Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001485

Buckeye Tech Corridor

source-reported permitted

Tract

Buckeye · Maricopa County · Arizona

Reported planned 1,800 MWSource updated 31 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Buckeye Tech Corridor.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Tract
Address and locality
Buckeye · Maricopa County · Arizona
Official metro area
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,800 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
31 August 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001485

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Arizona Public Service (APS)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
2,069 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$20 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
February 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Buckeye Tech Corridor is planned around a standard APS grid interconnect; APS is working to expand area power infrastructure to serve up to 1.8GW of demand.

Community. Buckeye City Council approved a development agreement granting Tract up to $50M in public infrastructure reimbursements; the mayor voiced strong support and no organized opposition is documented across multiple independent press accounts.

What the source record says

Master-planned data center park on a ~2,069-acre former residential (Cipriani) parcel Tract acquired for ~$136M, south of I-10 in Buckeye; planned for up to ~20M sq ft across as many as 40 data centers at full build-out over ~15 years (~$20B). Coordinates are an approximate town-level geocode (Buckeye, south of I-10), not a parcel-confirmed point. The City of Buckeye executed a development agreement with AZLCO Buckeye, LLC (Ordinance No. 08-24, adopted unanimously 2024-08-06). It reimburses the developer for six enumerated regional infrastructure components it builds and dedicates to the city — two public-safety sites, temporary and permanent public-safety facilities, $15M toward the Johnson Road interchange, and oversized regional water infrastructure — funded by 20% of the tax revenue the project itself generates, beginning only after the city has received $60M cumulatively and terminating 20 years from the effective date. It is capped at "the lesser of" the developer's verified costs or $50,000,000, so it cannot exceed what the developer actually spent; it is cost recovery for public infrastructure rather than an incentive, abatement or credit, and is therefore not recorded as a subsidy. Nothing has been paid to date. Buckeye's economic-development director has projected "more than 360 jobs at full build out" — an end-state across as many as 40 separate future data centers, none yet leased, permitted or built, and so not recorded as a permanent-jobs figure for this site. A search of 226 Buckeye Council and P&Z agendas (Feb 2024 – Aug 2026) found no GPLET and no Foreign Trade Zone instrument.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-02 · source-reported permitted

    Buckeye City Council terminated the prior Cipriani residential master plan and approved the Buckeye Tech Corridor rezoning.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tract-buckeye-tech-corridor-az. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001485

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Buckeye, AZ · Maricopa (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Tract

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: February 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-02 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 2,069 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,800 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Arizona Public Service (APS)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $20 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-31

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →