This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Project Kestrel.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Shenandoah Computing LLC
- Address and locality
- Southwest corner of Missouri Highway 92 and N. Winan Avenue (KCI 29 Logistics Park) · Kansas City · Platte County · Missouri
- Official metro area
- Kansas City, MO-KS
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 13 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001318
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Evergy
- Land area
- 379 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
- Announced
- 26 August 2025
Provider notes
Energy. Project commits to a minimum of 50% of all energy from carbon-free resources; development includes an on-site power substation.
Community. Platte County Presiding Commissioner Scott Fricker publicly said he cannot support Project Kestrel. He objected to tax subsidies for large corporations, potential water and electricity rate impacts, and limited transparency from Port KC, and called for Port KC reform. No votes or lawsuits reported.
What the source record says
Six hyperscale data center buildings planned (up to 1.8M sq ft total) on ~379-430 acres within Hunt Midwest KCI 29 Logistics Park, Platte County. Distinct from Google Project Mica (google-project-mica-kc-northland-mo), a separate campus ~9km east in Clay County. OPERATOR ATTRIBUTION, checked 2026-09-10: the fetched sources name the developer only as Shenandoah Computing LLC. KSHB names Shenandoah as the applicant and mentions Google solely in a context sentence about campuses ALREADY under construction in the Northland; Port KC does not mention Shenandoah at all. No fetched source ties Shenandoah to Google or any named hyperscaler, so no end-tenant is recorded here. An aggregator listing attributes this to Google; this dataset has previously found that aggregator wrong about an operator, so it is not relied on. INVESTMENT, checked 2026-09-10: the $100B figure is the ceiling of a conduit bond series Shenandoah asked Port KC to authorize (KSHB: "a series of conduit bonds that could reach $100 billion"), NOT a stated project investment, so no investmentUsd is recorded. Port KC approved a Chapter 100-style industrial development plan on 2025-08-28 with a 35-year real/personal property tax exemption and sales-tax relief on construction materials; no single abatement dollar total was stated, only projected net new tax revenue of ~$110M across all phases, so no structured subsidies entry is recorded. Local press (fox4kc, 2025-11) reports Platte County’s presiding commissioner publicly opposed the tax-break package; that page 403’d and archive.org was rate-limiting at retrieval, so this is an unverified lead for a future refresh, not a sourced community finding. Phase 1 was slated to begin 2026; not confirmed started.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
No status history was supplied in this edition.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Tech firm eyes development for 6 data centers north of Kansas City International Airport · KSHB
- $100 Billion Data Center Development to bring Infrastructure, Investment and Jobs to the Northland · Port KC
- Project Kestrel Data Center · Baxtel
- KCI 29 Logistics Park (OpenStreetMap) · OpenStreetMap contributors
- Platte County commissioner can't support $100 billion Northland data center · FOX4 Kansas City
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID shenandoah-project-kestrel-kc-northland-mo. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001318
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Southwest corner of Missouri Highway 92 and N. Winan Avenue (KCI 29 Logistics Park), Kansas City, MO · Platte (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Shenandoah Computing LLC
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 26 August 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 379 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Evergy
Utility as named by the provider.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-13
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.