This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for QTS Cedar Rapids Data Center Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- QTS Data Centers
- Address and locality
- Cedar Rapids · Linn County · Iowa
- Official metro area
- Cedar Rapids, IA
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,050 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 16 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001197
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Alliant Energy
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Air
- Land area
- 612 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $10 billion
- Announced jobs
- 30 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- February 2025
Provider notes
Energy. Alliant Energy serves Big Cedar Industrial Center; QTS also secured permits for temporary modular generator units for early testing near Eastern Iowa Airport
Water. Water-free cooling system; no water consumption for cooling
Community. Mayor O'Donnell called it 'the largest economic development investment in the City's history'; $18M community betterment fund contribution planned over 20 years
What the source record says
Coordinates approximate for Big Cedar Industrial Center; parcel is adjacent to Google's campus in the same 1,391-acre industrial park. $10B investment is total planned across 7 phases over up to 25 years; minimum $250M per phase, each requiring a 300,000 sq ft building. 7 buildings planned at full build-out. Permanent jobs figure is minimum per phase. QTS Co-CEO Tag Greason stated the completed seven-building campus will ultimately draw about 1,050 MW of power from Alliant Energy (planned, full build-out). QTS Data Centers is owned by Blackstone (2021 take-private).
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025-01 · source-reported permitted
Cedar Rapids City Council approved development agreement with QTS Cedar Rapids LLC on January 28, 2025
- 2025 · source-reported under construction
Ground broken on first building; April 2026 site tour attended by U.S. Energy Secretary Chris Wright confirmed active construction
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- City of Cedar Rapids, Alliant Energy, and QTS Collaborate on New Data Center Campus · City of Cedar Rapids
- QTS breaks ground on data center campus in Iowa · Data Center Dynamics
- Cedar Rapids, Iowa Gets Approval for Two Major Data Center Investments by Google and QTS · Data Center Frontier
- Data center project pitched as win for jobs, rates in Iowa (QTS Co-CEO: campus will ultimately use about 1,050 megawatts) · The Gazette (Cedar Rapids)
- Iowa communities grapple with regulating data centers as development spreads · Business Record
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID qts-cedar-rapids-ia. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001197
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Cedar Rapids, IA · Linn (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: QTS Data Centers
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: February 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025-01 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 612 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,050 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Alliant Energy
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Air
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $10 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Announced jobs: 30 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-16
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.