Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001137

PowerHouse Data Centers – Louisville (Camp Ground Road)

source-reported under construction

PowerHouse Data Centers

Louisville · Jefferson County · Kentucky

Reported planned 402 MWSource updated 22 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for PowerHouse Data Centers – Louisville (Camp Ground Road).

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
PowerHouse Data Centers
Address and locality
Louisville · Jefferson County · Kentucky
Official metro area
Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 402 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
22 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001137

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
LG&EUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
153 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$11 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
January 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Data center property tax exemption for Louisville/Jefferson County (authorized by Kentucky Legislature in 2024; specific duration not confirmed in available sources) · Jefferson County / Louisville Metro, KY · 2024 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. New LG&E switch station to be completed September 2026; initial 130 MW available October 2026; expandable from 335 MW to 402 MW

Community. Strong community opposition from Rubbertown-area residents citing energy affordability burdens on low-income customers, environmental and health equity concerns in a historically underserved West End neighborhood. Multiple public hearings with significant protests. Louisville Party for Socialism and Liberation among opponents.

What the source record says

Address: 6001 Camp Ground Road, Louisville, KY; near Shively and the Rubbertown industrial district, less than 1 mile from the Ohio River. 153 acres confirmed by DCD. 1.6M sq ft total campus across seven buildings. Operator discussing tenants including major hyperscalers (Google, Amazon, Microsoft named in reports). End tenant not publicly disclosed at time of research. Fix: removed unconfirmed '50-year' duration from tax exemption description — program exists per Kentucky 2024 legislation but specific term length was not confirmed by any fetched source.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-01 · source-reported proposed

    PowerHouse Data Centers and Poe Companies announce Louisville campus at 6001 Camp Ground Road; Kentucky's first hyperscale data center

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-06 · source-reported permitted

    Development Review Committee approves 4-0; property already zoned industrial, no Metro Council vote required

    Open cited source →

  3. 2025 · source-reported under construction

    Construction expected to begin 2025; Planning Commission approves revised site plans 6-1 over community objection in March 2026

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID powerhouse-louisville-ky. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001137

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Louisville, KY · Jefferson (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: PowerHouse Data Centers

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: January 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-01 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-06 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 153 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 402 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: LG&E

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $11 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Data center property tax exemption for Louisville/Jefferson County (authorized by Kentucky Legislature in 2024; specific duration not confirmed in available sources) · Jefferson County / Louisville Metro, KY · 2024

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-22

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →