Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001006

Microsoft Tyrone Campus (Project Rita)

source-reported permitted

Microsoft

Tyrone · Fayette County · Georgia

Reported planned 96 MWSource updated 7 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Tyrone Campus (Project Rita).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Tyrone · Fayette County · Georgia
Official metro area
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 96 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
7 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001006

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
161 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
November 2023Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Utility not named in any public filing. Georgia Power is the incumbent Fayette County utility but is not source-confirmed for this project. Microsoft said it will pay for transmission/substation improvements and that costs should not transfer to residential ratepayers.

Water. Source: Fayette County Water System. Microsoft estimates ~4,000 gallons/day operational.

Community. 2024 rezoning drew limited opposition; by 2026 residents launched a Change.org petition seeking an independent environmental/infrastructure study and a moratorium on future data centers.

What the source record says

Two-building campus (two 48 MW buildings = 96 MW, ~490,000-500,000 sq ft) plus an on-site substation; codename Project Rita. Part of Microsoft's East US 3 Azure region (planned 2027). Total site ~161 acres (~146.4 in Tyrone + ~14.5 in Fairburn). As of June 2 2026 no site plan or building permits filed. Microsoft requested no tax abatements (none offered). No investment figure disclosed. Coordinates approximate (address-derived; 2044 GA-74). Estimated ~4,000 gallons/day operational water use.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2023-11 · source-reported proposed

    DRI (Development of Regional Impact) application filed; project first surfaced publicly

    Open cited source →

  2. 2024-03-28 · source-reported permitted

    Rezoning approved by Tyrone Town Council

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-05-05 · source-reported permitted

    Microsoft publicly confirmed the project via Microsoft Local blog; no site plan or building permits filed as of June 2 2026

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-tyrone-ga. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001006

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Tyrone, GA · Fayette (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: November 2023

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2023-11 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-03-28 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-05-05 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 161 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 96 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-07

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →