Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001002

Microsoft San Antonio SAT89/SAT90 Data Centers

source-reported under construction

Microsoft

Castroville · Medina County · Texas

Capacity not statedSource updated 6 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft San Antonio SAT89/SAT90 Data Centers.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Castroville · Medina County · Texas
Official metro area
San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
6 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001002

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Power supply description
Grid (CPS Energy / renewable-matched)Provider’s own description of the power supply; no separate utility field was supplied.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
AirProvider label.
Announced investment
$765 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
May 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Microsoft has contracted 4.7 GW of renewable electricity in Texas statewide. Individual facility utility not confirmed in available sources.

Water. Microsoft switched the Medina County design from evaporative to air-cooling at the request of Yancey Water Supply (which serves the area), cutting projected water use ~85% (~150,000 gpd). No site-specific residual water-use (MGD) figure is published.

Community. Medina County, west of San Antonio, hosts one of the densest Microsoft data-center clusters in the U.S.; residents and officials have raised concern over farmland conversion and groundwater strain, while the local tax base benefits and a cooperative water-supply redesign (air-cooling) resolved one supplier's objection. No litigation found.

What the source record says

Two single-story facilities (SAT89 and SAT90), each 244,700 sq ft, along US Hwy 90 in Medina County. Part of Microsoft's broader San Antonio campus (operating since 2005). $765M investment covers the two new buildings; broader expansion including Texas Research Park adds another $1B. Coordinates are approximate Castroville area centroid; exact parcel not publicly identified. Completion target corrected to July 2027 per permit filings. Tax abatements for SAT89/SAT90 are shielded under Texas competitive-information law (a Chapter 312 abatement is confirmed only for the earlier SAT82 building); site-specific job counts are unpublished (an earlier SAT82 building cited ~50 permanent / ~1,500 construction).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-05 · source-reported proposed

    Permit filings submitted for two new single-story data centers (SAT89 and SAT90) along US Hwy 90 in Medina County.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-06 · source-reported under construction

    Construction scheduled to begin June 2025; completion targeted July 2027.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-san-antonio-expansion-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001002

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Castroville, TX · Medina (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: May 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-05 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-06 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Power supply description: Grid (CPS Energy / renewable-matched)

    Provider’s own description of the power supply; no separate utility field was supplied.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Air

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $765 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-06

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →