Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000980

Microsoft Granger Data Center

source-reported under construction

Microsoft

Granger · St. Joseph County · Indiana

Reported planned 1,000 MWSource updated 30 May 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Granger Data Center.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Granger · St. Joseph County · Indiana
Official metro area
South Bend-Mishawaka, IN-MI
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
30 May 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000980

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Indiana Michigan Power (I&M / AEP)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
939 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
300 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Grid-served; Microsoft is named among large-load customers in I&M's 2024 settlement. No on-site generation reported.

Water. Closed-loop cooling: coolant is mixed outside St. Joseph County, trucked to the site, and transported out after about two years for cleaning. Mishawaka city water is used for domestic use only; on-site groundwater wells were capped (no aquifer withdrawal). No withdrawal-rate figure disclosed.

Community. Residents raised concerns at town hall about approximately 300 diesel generators, drainage, emissions, and water supply adequacy. Four-party water agreement reached (City of Mishawaka, St. Joseph County, Regional Water and Sewer District, Granger Water LLC) after months of disputes. Microsoft not seeking local tax abatements.

What the source record says

Former St. Joe Farm, near Bittersweet Road and Currant Road, Granger IN (St. Joseph County). 939 acres; 5-6 buildings planned; ~1 GW power load estimated by county officials. Microsoft not seeking local tax incentives. Status downgraded from 'under_construction' to 'permitted': WSBT source (cited in original record for the construction claim) explicitly states 'no construction has begun' and no formal site plan submitted; WNDU March 2026 MOU covers pre-development evaluation only. Confidence downgraded to 'reported' pending construction confirmation. Coordinates are approximate Granger unincorporated community area.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024 · source-reported proposed

    Microsoft acquires 939-acre St. Joe Farm near Currant and Cleveland Roads, Granger IN for $77.5M; site adjacent to Indiana Toll Road; county rezones land

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-03 · source-reported permitted

    St. Joseph County Redevelopment Commission and City of Mishawaka approve MOU for pre-development work; $12.6M cap for early design and infrastructure evaluation; construction authorization pending resolution of utility and site plan questions

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-05-30 · source-reported under construction

    Physical construction underway as of late May 2026 — active site earthwork, water trucked in for dust suppression, and the county highway department monitoring construction traffic. Follows the St. Joseph County MOU approval (March 17, 2026) and groundbreaking in late April/early May 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-granger-in. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000980

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Granger, IN · St. Joseph (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2024 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-03 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-05-30 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 939 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Indiana Michigan Power (I&M / AEP)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 300 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-05-30

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →