Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000973

Microsoft Fairwater Atlanta (Azure AI Superfactory)

source-reported operational

Microsoft

Fayetteville · Fayette County · Georgia

Reported planned 1,500 MWSource updated 26 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Microsoft Fairwater Atlanta (Azure AI Superfactory).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
Fayetteville · Fayette County · Georgia
Official metro area
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
26 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000973

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Georgia PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
615 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Fayette County Development Authority 10-year stepped property-tax abatement (0% yr 1 -> 100% yr 10, +10%/yr) on the QTS 'Project Excalibur' campus; also qualifies for Georgia's statewide data-center sales-and-use tax exemption · Fayette County, GA · 2023 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Two-story design with no UPS or backup generators (DCD, Oct 2025) — no on-site generation. Microsoft states Fairwater uses improved closed-loop cooling that 'consumes almost zero water in its operation.' Georgia Power 2025 IRP testimony cites the QTS Fayetteville campus as a single load of just under 1,500 MW at full build-out.

Water. QTS closed-loop 'water-free' design (COO Ryan Hunter: 'Once the water's in there, it stays in there for the life of the asset'); ~600,000-gal one-time fill per building, ongoing per-building use 'equivalent to four American households per month.' During construction the campus drew ~29-30M gallons through two unmetered connections (2024-25); Fayette County issued a ~$147,000 retroactive charge and no fine. No operational daily figure for the Microsoft tenant space specifically.

Community. Fayetteville adopted a 90-day moratorium (Jan 29 2026) then unanimously passed Ordinance 26-O-12 (March 5 2026) banning new data centers in all zoning districts; existing Fairwater 1/2 and the Dec 2025 East Campus rezoning are grandfathered. Opposition centered on construction traffic, the ~29M-gal unmetered water draw, and new 500 kV transmission lines; Mayor Edward Johnson expressed support. A competing Crow Holdings proposal withdrew its appeal after the ban. No litigation against the Fairwater campus.

What the source record says

615-acre, up-to-13-building QTS-built campus on Hwy 54W near Fayetteville, Fayette County (Microsoft's materials say 'Atlanta'). Began operation Oct 2025 as Fairwater 2 — a 'multi-gigawatt' AI campus. ~1,500 MW is the anticipated ultimate Georgia Power load across all buildings (planned figure; ~433 MW cited as initially online). Distinct from Microsoft's smaller Tyrone, GA campus. Two-story design with no UPS or backup generators. Coordinates are the Fayetteville area centroid. Microsoft has not disclosed tenant capex for the Fairwater Fayetteville space; the ~$1B/$6.5B figures are QTS developer build-out estimates for the full multi-tenant campus, and the widely-cited $14.5M abatement / $1.8B / $75M figures attach to different Microsoft/Fulton-County sites (the $75M was FCDA land-sale proceeds, not a subsidy to QTS) -> investmentUsd omitted.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-10 · source-reported operational

    Microsoft's Atlanta Fairwater AI datacenter began operation in October 2025 — the second in the Fairwater family; two-story, no UPS/gensets

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-fairwater-fayetteville-ga. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000973

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Fayetteville, GA (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Microsoft

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-10 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 615 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Georgia Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Fayette County Development Authority 10-year stepped property-tax abatement (0% yr 1 -> 100% yr 10, +10%/yr) on the QTS 'Project Excalibur' campus; also qualifies for Georgia's statewide data-center sales-and-use tax exemption · Fayette County, GA · 2023

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-26

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →