Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000946

Meta Prineville Data Center Campus

source-reported operational

Meta

Prineville · Crook County · Oregon

Reported operational 400 MWSource updated 14 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Meta Prineville Data Center Campus.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Meta
Address and locality
Prineville · Crook County · Oregon
Official metro area
Bend, OR
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Operational: 400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
14 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000946

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Pacific Power (PacifiCorp)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
HybridProvider label.
Land area
240 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$2 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
350 permanent · 1,000 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2010Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Oregon Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone — 15-year property-tax abatement across multiple building phases since 2012 (per-company cumulative total not publicly disclosed) · Crook County / Prineville, OR · 2012 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. 100% renewable match via PPAs and RECs; Meta contracted 437 MW of new Oregon solar, including about 100 MW in the Prineville area. 2023 average PUE 1.08; no on-site generation.

Water. Outdoor-air economizer cooling with evaporative assist on peak days. Annual withdrawal was ~68.4M gallons (2022), down from a ~117.5M-gallon peak (2020); use concentrates on roughly 10 hot summer days (about 10% of city consumption on those days). Meta co-funded a second aquifer storage-and-recovery injection well.

Community. Broadly supportive — credited with reversing post-recession unemployment; city franchise fees from data-center power grew from ~$430K (2011) to ~$11M/year (2024). But Crook County schools forgo tens of millions per year in abated taxes, biologists have flagged aquifer-drawdown concerns, and in 2026 Oregon moved to pause data-center enterprise-zone exemptions for new applicants. A June 2026 contractor change cut 66 logistics jobs (Meta said most would be rehired).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2010 · source-reported under construction

    Open cited source →

  2. 2011 · source-reported operational

    Meta's first company-owned data center; campus expanded with multiple buildings through 2023

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-prineville-or. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Operator’s own listing

What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.

Listed by Meta on its website (captured 25 September 2026)
Name as listed
Prineville
Address as published
Prineville, OR

Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Open the operator’s page → captured 25 September 2026

Matched to this licensed row on operator and city only: this is the one site the operator lists in this city and the only licensed row of that operator there, with reviewed subject identity; no address or boundary is established for this row.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000946

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Prineville, OR · Crook (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Meta

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2010

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2010 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2011 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 240 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Operational: 400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Pacific Power (PacifiCorp)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Hybrid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $2 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 350 permanent · 1,000 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Oregon Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone — 15-year property-tax abatement across multiple building phases since 2012 (per-company cumulative total not publicly disclosed) · Crook County / Prineville, OR · 2012

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →