Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000942

Meta Los Lunas AI Expansion

source-reported under construction

Meta

4250-4320 Messenger Loop NW · Los Lunas · Valencia County · New Mexico · 87031

Capacity not statedSource updated 15 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Meta Los Lunas AI Expansion.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Meta
Address and locality
4250-4320 Messenger Loop NW · Los Lunas · Valencia County · New Mexico · 87031
Official metro area
Albuquerque, NM
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
15 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000942

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Public Service Company of New Mexico (PNM)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
SolarProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Reported water use
1.5 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
750 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$800 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
30 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
December 2024Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Industrial Revenue Bonds (IRBs) — third series · Village of Los Lunas, NM · 2024 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Meta has invested in 885MW+ of renewable energy capacity in NM; PNM seeking regulatory approval for three additional solar+storage projects (Star Light, Windy Lane, Four Mile) to serve Phase 3 power demand

Water. Existing campus is in water-stressed Middle Rio Grande basin; specific cooling type for new AI buildings not disclosed in available sources

Community. Village officials credit the campus with $145 million in gross receipts tax revenue since construction began in 2016 and with 15% population growth between 2020 and 2024, and the Village Council approved industrial revenue bonds for the AI expansion; local scrutiny centres on the campus's electricity and water consumption.

What the source record says

Reported as the first Meta facilities explicitly dedicated to AI/ML workloads. Existing campus is 750 acres. IRBs authorize tax-exempt bond financing for construction materials — the $7.5B per series is the authorized principal ceiling, not a direct cash subsidy. Meta required to invest $350M into expansion by year 10 under agreement. Operating entity: Greater Kudu LLC.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2016-01 · source-reported operational

    Original Los Lunas campus broke ground; now 7 buildings, 1.5M+ sq ft, 120MW+ operational

  2. 2024-12 · source-reported proposed

    Village Council approved IRB authorization for AI expansion; two new buildings announced as first in Meta's portfolio dedicated to AI and ML

    Open cited source →

  3. 2025-04 · source-reported under construction

    Construction started spring 2025; two-to-three year build timeline

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-los-lunas-ai-nm. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000942

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • 4250-4320 Messenger Loop NW, Los Lunas, NM 87031 · Valencia (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Meta

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: December 2024

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2016-01 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-12 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-04 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 750 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Public Service Company of New Mexico (PNM)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Solar

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

  • Reported water use: 1.5 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $800 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 30 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Industrial Revenue Bonds (IRBs) — third series · Village of Los Lunas, NM · 2024

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-15

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →