Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000937

Meta Hyperion

source-reported under construction

Meta

Delhi vicinity · Richland County · Louisiana

Reported planned 2,000 MWSource updated 15 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Meta Hyperion.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Meta
Address and locality
Delhi vicinity · Richland County · Louisiana
Official metro area
Monroe, LA
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 2,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
15 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000937

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Entergy LouisianaUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
MixedProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Reported water use
5 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
2,250 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$10 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
500 permanent · 5,000 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
January 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Louisiana Act 730 data center equipment sales/use tax exemption (20 years, state and local) · Louisiana · 2025 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Entergy Louisiana is building new natural-gas combined-cycle generation (7+ units, 5,200+ MW) to serve the load, plus Meta committed up to 2,500 MW of new solar; Meta pledges to match total use with 100% clean and renewable energy. The gas buildout and its ratepayer impact are contested by advocates.

Water. Sierra Club reporting states ~5 million gallons/day (~2 billion/year). Cooling type not disclosed in primary sources. Meta pledges 100% water restoration by 2030 via a 316-acre restoration project with Resource Environmental Solutions.

Community. Local farmers and elected officials welcome road, hospital, and school investment; Sierra Club, ratepayer advocates, and The Lens raise concerns about the Entergy gas buildout's burden on customers, water use, and whether operational jobs go to locals. No documented litigation in Richland Parish.

What the source record says

A second, larger Meta data center development at the same Richland Parish complex is in progress under the internal name 'Project Evest' (Evest LLC, a Meta subsidiary and Laidley affiliate), the subject of a new, not-yet-docketed LPSC certification application (Direct Testimony of Laura K. Beauchamp on behalf of Entergy Louisiana, filed March 2026, public-redacted version). The testimony states Evest 'seeks to develop adjacent to Laidley's data center in Richland Parish, Louisiana, that was the subject of the proceedings in LPSC Docket No. U-37425' (i.e., the already-tracked Hyperion project). To serve Evest, Entergy is seeking certification of seven new 754 MW 1x1 CCCT generators (four near the Richland Parish site, three sited near the existing Big Cajun site in Pointe Coupee Parish) plus battery storage co-located at the Bogalusa West Solar and Cypress Harvest Solar facilities -- on top of the three CCCTs (Franklin Farms 1&2, Waterford 5) already approved for Hyperion itself. Investigative coverage (The Lens, 2026-04-14) puts the combined Hyperion+Evest generation build at 10 new gas plants, 7,000+ MW, and $16B+ in new fossil-fuel infrastructure serving this one customer, and reports the underlying Entergy-Meta commercial agreements are not fully public. This is DISTINCT NEW information not yet reflected in the existing record's notes/community fields (which per the roster are already populated) -- flagging for maintainer review rather than as a field-merge, since 'community' on this record is locked (already has a value) and it is not yet certain whether Evest will ship as a second facility record or as an update to this one once its own docket number and site-specific coordinates are public.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-01 · source-reported proposed

    Announced as part of Meta's $65B 2025 capex plan; described as a 2-gigawatt AI data center campus

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025 · source-reported under construction

    Site preparation and construction underway

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID meta-hyperion-richland-parish-la. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000937

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Delhi vicinity, LA · Richland (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Meta

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: January 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-01 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 2,250 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 2,000 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Entergy Louisiana

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Mixed

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

  • Reported water use: 5 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $10 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 500 permanent · 5,000 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Louisiana Act 730 data center equipment sales/use tax exemption (20 years, state and local) · Louisiana · 2025

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-15

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →