This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Google Botetourt Center at Greenfield Data Center Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- Daleville · Botetourt County · Virginia
- Official metro area
- Roanoke, VA
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 27 August 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000707
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Cooling
- Air
- Reported water use
- 2 million gallons per day (source-reported)
- Land area
- 312 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced
- 24 June 2025
Provider notes
Water. Google announced in July 2026 that the first of three planned buildings will use air cooling. Its water service agreement with the Western Virginia Water Authority 'currently provides for an initial 2 million gallons per day'; the authority also explored a larger pipe capable of up to 8 MGD in future.
What the source record says
Google purchased approximately 312 acres for $14,055,406 in June 2025 and committed a further $4 million in grants to county initiatives over five years — a land-and-grant figure, not a disclosed facility capex, so investmentUsd is intentionally omitted. Three data center buildings are planned in the Botetourt Center at Greenfield, the only site in the county zoned for data centers. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the Greenfield industrial park near Daleville, not a parcel-confirmed point.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-02 · source-reported permitted
Zoning ordinance amendment approved November 26, 2024; Google purchased ~312 acres in June 2025; grading permit applications received February 2026, with first building targeted for occupancy in 2028.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Google Data Center — Botetourt County, VA (county project page) · Botetourt County, Virginia
- Google announces air-cooling for first Botetourt data center building, raising questions over new water use numbers · WSLS 10
- Google announced plans to develop data center campus in Botetourt County · WSET
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-botetourt-greenfield-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000707
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Daleville, VA · Botetourt (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 24 June 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-02 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 312 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Air
Provider label.
- Reported water use: 2 million gallons per day (source-reported)
Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-08-27
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.