state incentives · checked 12 September 2026

Up to $98.3 million is the sum of the four listed credit/grant programs and excludes the separately authorized 50-year sales-and-use-tax exemption, whose value is not stated here.

A verdict applies only to the wording shown.

Company claims are shown as stated; they are not findings.

state incentives · IN · aws-new-carlisle

Supported

Said by Indiana Economic Development Corporation (government) on 2024-04-25 in Indiana Economic Development Corporation.

Checked 12 September 2026

Up to $98.3 million is the sum of the four listed credit/grant programs and excludes the separately authorized 50-year sales-and-use-tax exemption, whose value is not stated here.

What the evidence supports

IEDC's 2024 announcement described up to $98.3 million across four listed credit/grant programs, a separate DATA sales-and-use-tax exemption, and up to $7 million for roads. Project 424567 portal records retrieved 12 September 2026 show HBI $55 million Executed with $0 paid/certified; EDGE $18.3 million Executed with $160,947 paid/certified; RTC $20 million in Post Term Reporting Period with $20 million paid/certified; and SEF $5 million Pending Accepted Offer. The DATA agreement lists an $800 million minimum qualified investment by 31 December 2038, an $11 billion extension test by 31 December 2043, and a maximum exemption deadline of 31 December 2073; section 6.D preserves IEDC discretion to deny, suspend, or extend the exemption if the $11 billion extension test is missed. These are portal fields and contract terms—not proof that benefits, jobs, or completed investment were independently observed.

Still unknown

Benefits earned, claimed and received; the meaning of DATA's $611,502,328 Paid/Certified to Date field; whether SEF is executed; RTC status meaning; independently observed jobs and placed-in-service investment.

Confidence: medium — government-described performance package · 7 sources

Open full claim → History (2) →

Evidence details

  1. Indiana Economic Development Corporation → Gov. record

    Exact location https://iedc.in.gov/events/news/details/2024/04/25/gov.-holcomb-announces-amazon-web-services-plans-to-invest-11b-to-create-a-new-data-center-campus-in-northern-indiana

    What it supports Baseline investment, jobs, incentives and road contribution.

    Retrieved 11 September 2026 · published 2024-04-25

  2. IEDC Project 424567 — HBI contract detail → Gov. record

    Exact location Incentive Details and Project Performance Details: HBI $55,000,000; Executed; contract date 2025-11-06; Paid/Certified to Date $0

    What it supports Attributed portal status and fields for one incentive instrument; not proof of a cash payment or observed project outcome.

    Retrieved 12 September 2026

  3. IEDC Project 424567 — EDGE contract detail → Gov. record

    Exact location Incentive Details and Project Performance Details: EDGE $18,300,000; Executed; contract date 2025-11-06; Paid/Certified to Date $160,947

    What it supports Attributed portal status and fields for one incentive instrument; not proof of independently observed jobs.

    Retrieved 12 September 2026

  4. IEDC Project 424567 — RTC contract detail → Gov. record

    Exact location Incentive Details and Project Performance Details: RTC $20,000,000; Post Term Reporting Period; contract date 2025-11-06; Paid/Certified to Date $20,000,000

    What it supports Attributed portal status and fields. The status is not relabeled Executed and the displayed amount is not characterized as cash paid.

    Retrieved 12 September 2026

  5. IEDC Project 424567 — SEF contract detail → Gov. record

    Exact location Incentive Details: SEF $5,000,000; Pending Accepted Offer; no contract date or posted agreement PDF

    What it supports The training-grant instrument remains pending in the portal; it is not treated as executed.

    Retrieved 12 September 2026

  6. IEDC Project 424567 — DATA contract detail → Gov. record

    Exact location Incentive Details and Project Performance Details: DATA Executed; contract date 2024-11-08; blank contract amount; Paid/Certified to Date $611,502,328; Actual Qualified Investment $8,735,747,538

    What it supports Attributed portal fields for the DATA instrument. The displayed figures are not characterized as cash paid or an independently audited placed-in-service total.

    Retrieved 12 September 2026

  7. IEDC DATA Center Tax Exemption Agreement — Project 424567 → Gov. record

    Exact location PDF p. 1 sections 3.C and 3.E; p. 2 sections 6.C–D; p. 13 Exhibit A section 2.A–B; p. 15 Exhibit B

    What it supports Contractual investment thresholds, extension test, IEDC remedies and maximum exemption deadline. The agreement does not compel construction or prove benefits earned.

    Retrieved 12 September 2026 · published 2024-11-08

Counterevidence

None recorded.

Next check

annual project-specific CF-1 compliance filing

History

Correction · 12 September 2026 · Software-assisted second check

aws-new-carlisleState incentives

Field State incentives

From The contract split was held because no independent retrieval was recorded.

To Five Project 424567 portal instruments and the DATA agreement are cited with exact fields and contract locators.

Why The second review reproduced the portal records while preserving the difference between authorized terms, portal fields, and observed outcomes.

Evidence https://transparencyportal.iedc.in.gov/viewtaxgrantloancontract/8c0f68149feaee11904d001dd8306d4e →

Correction · 14 September 2026 · Editorial classification update

aws-new-carlisleState incentives

Field State incentives

From Not independently verified

To Supported

Why The government announcement, portal fields and agreement support the carefully limited description of authorized terms. They do not prove delivery, jobs or completed investment.

Evidence re-reading of the sources already cited on this claim; no new source.

Data + actions

This claim as JSON →

AWS — New Carlisle · Linked record

Suggest a correction → Claim ID claim:aws-new-carlisle:state-incentives and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear publicly on Changes.