This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Vantage Frontier Campus.
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Vantage Data Centers
- Address and locality
- Shackelford County · Texas
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 1,400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 5 July 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001529
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power supply description
- on-site natural gas microgrid (Voltagrid)
- Power source
- On-site gas
- On-site generation
- 700 MW (source-reported)
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 1,200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced jobs
- 250 permanent
- Community response
- Provider label: supported
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 2025
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Chapter 312 property tax abatement (Reinvestment Zone 2025-1; ~$10M/yr payments in lieu of taxes for 10 years) · Shackelford County, Texas · 2025 Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. Off-grid, behind-the-meter natural gas microgrid (~210 industrial gas generators, 700 MW) built and managed by VoltaGrid, bypassing multi-year ERCOT interconnection queues. No grid utility connection.
Water. Vantage describes a closed-loop chilled-water system with 'near zero' water utilization efficiency; no reported MGD figure disclosed.
Community. Shackelford County Commissioners unanimously approved the 10-year abatement; Vantage committed up to 10 annual college scholarships and $150,000 to local charities over the first decade. No documented public opposition found. Peak construction workforce cited as up to ~6,500.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025 · source-reported proposed
Part of Stargate expansion; $25B mega-campus on 1,200 acres at Hwy 604 / Hwy 351 intersection; ~125 miles W of Fort Worth
- 2025 · source-reported under construction
Ground broken; first building delivery targeted H2 2026; 10 buildings planned totaling 3.7M sq ft
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Vantage Data Centers Unveils Plans for Frontier, a $25B Mega-campus in Texas — Vantage · Vantage Data Centers
- Vantage breaks ground on Texas gigawatt data center campus for OpenAI — Data Center Dynamics · Data Center Dynamics
- Oracle and OpenAI Texas data center to run on 700MW natural gas microgrid · Construction Owners
- Vantage Shackelford County, TX campus · Vantage Data Centers
- Data center plans move forward in Shackelford County · The Albany News
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID vantage-frontier-shackelford-county-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001529
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- TX · Shackelford (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: Vantage Data Centers
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 1,200 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 1,400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power supply description: on-site natural gas microgrid (Voltagrid)
Provider’s own description of the power supply; no separate utility field was supplied.
- Power source: On-site gas
Provider label.
- On-site generation: 700 MW (source-reported)
On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced jobs: 250 permanent
Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: supported
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: Chapter 312 property tax abatement (Reinvestment Zone 2025-1; ~$10M/yr payments in lieu of taxes for 10 years) · Shackelford County, Texas · 2025
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-05
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.