Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001441

TeraWulf AI Data Center Campus, Lansing

source-reported proposed

TeraWulf

Lansing · Tompkins County · New York

Reported planned 400 MWSource updated 21 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for TeraWulf AI Data Center Campus, Lansing.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
TeraWulf
Address and locality
Lansing · Tompkins County · New York
Official metro area
Ithaca, NY
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001441

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
New York State Electric & Gas (NYSEG)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
183 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$400 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
100 permanent · 500 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
August 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Former Cayuga Power Plant (coal) site at 228 Cayuga Drive on Cayuga Lake shoreline; 80-year lease signed August 2025.

Water. TeraWulf proposes closed-loop cooling system; water withdrawal permit application for over 1 million gallons daily from Cayuga Lake submitted to NYSDEC; community contests reliability of closed-loop commitment given LLC structure.

Community. 19,700-signature petition (17,000 from NY state) submitted to Lansing Town Board. Tompkins County Legislature voted 12-1 on January 20, 2026 urging NYSDEC to reject water withdrawal permit. TeraWulf threatened legal action against Town of Lansing over alleged Open Meeting Law violations. Multiple adjacent towns (Dryden, Danby) passed laws blocking data center development in response.

What the source record says

Site is the former Cayuga Power Plant (coal-fired, retired). NYSDEC water permit application for Cayuga Lake withdrawal was originally filed in 2021 for 'unspecified future use.' Permit dates to 1955 without modern monitoring requirements per opposition. TeraWulf also has a separate cryptomining operation at the Susquehanna site in PA (Nautilus). Operating entity: Cayuga Operating Company (acquired plant). NO STATUS CHANGE. The April 2026 DEC water-withdrawal/SPDES action is explicitly for the existing power plant's current operations, not the data center; DEC states it is 'not associated with the proposed data center'. As of the sources fetched 2026-09-09 the project remains proposed and had not cleared local site-plan review. Do not read the water permit as a data-center permit.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-08 · source-reported proposed

    Cayuga Operating Company (TeraWulf affiliate) signs 80-year lease on 183-acre former Cayuga Power Plant site

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-12 · source-reported proposed

    Lansing Zoning Board of Appeals rules (December 22) that data center qualifies as permitted general processing land use

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-01 · source-reported proposed

    Tompkins County Legislature passes 12-1 resolution urging NYSDEC to reject water withdrawal permit; town debates year-long construction moratorium

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID terawulf-lansing-ny. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001441

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Lansing, NY · Tompkins (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: TeraWulf

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: August 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-08 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-12 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-01 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 183 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 400 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: New York State Electric & Gas (NYSEG)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $400 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 100 permanent · 500 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →