Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001440

Justified Data Campus

source-reported under construction

TeraWulf

Hawesville · Hancock County · Kentucky

Reported planned 401 MWSource updated 22 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Justified Data Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
TeraWulf
Address and locality
Hawesville · Hancock County · Kentucky
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 401 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
22 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001440

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Big Rivers Electric CorporationUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
750 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
100 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Site connects directly to regional transmission network via on-site energized substation and multiple high-voltage transmission lines, bypassing local distribution. Big Rivers Electric filed a retail service agreement with the Kentucky PSC in April 2026 covering 482 MW transmission capacity for the Justified Data project; TeraWulf bears identified costs and risks for obtaining and transmitting capacity. TeraWulf is covering the full cost of required grid upgrades.

Water. TeraWulf stated at community meetings that no river water or municipal water will be used. Advanced closed-loop liquid cooling system; company stated campus will use less water over several years than the former aluminum smelter consumed in a single day. No reported MGD figure available.

Community. Online petition with 1,200+ signatures asking county officials, the governor, and the state utility regulator to pause approvals pending disclosure of energy, environmental, and infrastructure impacts. Hancock County Judge-Executive Johnny Roberts publicly supportive, citing 100–120 high-paying permanent jobs and significant new annual tax revenue for schools and emergency services. Opposition concerns center on water use, traffic, and environmental effects. TeraWulf held community meetings (March 2026) to address water and cooling questions.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The source note says the $3–4 billion construction figure is a range, not a firm single figure, and excludes it from investment.

What the source record says

Brownfield redevelopment of former Century Aluminum smelter. Site acquired February 2026 from Century Aluminum subsidiary; acquisition price reported by multiple outlets as $200M cash plus a 6.8% minority equity interest in TeraWulf (not confirmed in official PR text fetched). Lease entity: TeraWulf's Raylan Data LLC to Anthropic PBC. The ~$19B is contracted lease revenue over the 20-year term — not capex; excluded from investmentUsd. TeraWulf indicated a $3B–$4B construction investment for two data center buildings (range, not a firm single figure; excluded from investmentUsd). Site has ~480 MW of existing power availability; 401 MW is the Anthropic lease capacity. Total site ~750 acres per news sources; TeraWulf's official PR cited 'over 250 buildable acres.' Coordinates are approximate (Hawesville town center). Fluidstack/Abernathy JV is a separate unrelated transaction — excluded from this record.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026 · source-reported permitted

    TeraWulf acquired ~750-acre former Century Aluminum smelter site from Century Aluminum subsidiary; Justified Data campus announced February 2, 2026.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026 · source-reported under construction

    20-year lease signed with Anthropic PBC (via TeraWulf's Raylan Data LLC entity) for 401 MW critical IT load; ~$19B contracted lease revenue over initial term. Initial capacity targeted H2 2027; full 401 MW ramp by early 2028. Announced July 6, 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID terawulf-hawesville-ky. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001440

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Hawesville, KY · Hancock (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: TeraWulf

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 750 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 401 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Big Rivers Electric Corporation

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 100 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-22

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →