Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001428

Project Tembo

source-reported under construction

Google

Cheyenne · Laramie County · Wyoming

Reported planned 2,700 MWSource updated 2 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Project Tembo.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
Cheyenne · Laramie County · Wyoming
Official metro area
Cheyenne, WY
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 2,700 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
2 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001428

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Black Hills EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
On-site gasProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
716 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
400 permanent · 5,000 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
January 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Cheyenne Power Hub natural-gas plant (Tallgrass), scalable toward multi-GW; Black Hills Energy co-invested.

Water. Closed-loop cooling systems recirculating treated water; plans include deep wells beneath the Lance Formation to reach industrial water below the Ogallala Aquifer. Wastewater treatment is to occur on site with evaporative lagoon storage, which is disposal rather than the heat-rejection method.

What the source record says

Switchgrass Industrial Park, Hwy 85 south of Cheyenne, Laramie County - geographically distinct from Meta (Project Cosmo) and Microsoft's Cheyenne campuses. 716-acre campus. Originally announced at 1.8GW as 'Project Jade' with an undisclosed hyperscale client (Crusoe Energy as builder); Crusoe exited June 2026. On 2026-07-08, Google was publicly revealed as owner/operator via subsidiary Jupiter Star Holdings, and the project was renamed 'Project Tembo'; capacity confirmed at 2.7GW with an ultimate ceiling of up to 10GW. The Cheyenne Power Hub on-site natural-gas plant supplies power (Tallgrass Energy; Black Hills Energy co-invested). ~$50B total project figure remains a projection. Completion targeted 2031.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-01 · source-reported under construction

    Laramie County approved the project Jan 2026; site work underway at Switchgrass Industrial Park (Hwy 85 south of Cheyenne). Crusoe (original builder) exited June 2026; Tallgrass now works directly with the unnamed DC client

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-07 · source-reported under construction

    Google publicly revealed as owner/operator (via subsidiary Jupiter Star Holdings, which replaced Crusoe Energy as builder); project renamed 'Project Tembo'. Capacity confirmed at 2.7GW with potential to scale to 10GW total. Completion targeted 2031.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tallgrass-project-jade-cheyenne-wy. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001428

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Cheyenne, WY · Laramie (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: January 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-01 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-07 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 716 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 2,700 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Black Hills Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: On-site gas

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 400 permanent · 5,000 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-02

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →