Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001273

Sabey Data Centers Butte Campus (Montana Connections)

source-reported cancelled

Sabey Data Centers

German Gulch Rd & Rick Jones Way · Butte · Silver Bow County · Montana

Reported planned 50 MWSource updated 8 October 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Sabey Data Centers Butte Campus (Montana Connections).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Sabey Data Centers
Address and locality
German Gulch Rd & Rick Jones Way · Butte · Silver Bow County · Montana
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
cancelled
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 50 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
8 October 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001273

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
NorthWestern EnergyUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
600 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Provider notes

Energy. NorthWestern Energy was to supply 50 MW beginning in 2027, with expansion potential to 250 MW or more by 2029.

What the source record says

Sabey withdrew/terminated its buy-sell agreement on 2026-05-13 after REC Silicon exercised a right of first refusal (dating to 1996) over part of the 606.5-acre Montana Connections parcel in April 2026. The project had planned an initial 50MW of power under a non-binding LOI with NorthWestern Energy for 2027, with scalability to 250MW+ by 2029 -- the higher figure is an aspirational scale-up target, not recorded in capacityMw. Butte-Silver Bow officials said afterward they were working with Sabey to identify an alternative parcel within or adjacent to the same industrial park; no replacement site was confirmed in sources checked this run (2026-09-13). Coordinate is a road-level OSM Nominatim geocode of German Gulch Road near the Ramsay/Ramsay-Butte area (Silver Bow County), not a confirmed parcel boundary.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-02 · source-reported proposed

    Land purchase/sale agreement for a 606.5-acre parcel in the Montana Connections Industrial Park was still contingent on closing, with the deadline extended to Feb 11, 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID sabey-butte-mt. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001273

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • German Gulch Rd & Rick Jones Way, Butte, MT · Silver Bow (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Sabey Data Centers

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-02 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 600 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 50 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: NorthWestern Energy

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-08

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →