Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001132

PowerHouse Charlotte Campus

source-reported under construction

PowerHouse Data Centers

Charlotte · Mecklenburg County · North Carolina

Reported planned 300 MWSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for PowerHouse Charlotte Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
PowerHouse Data Centers
Address and locality
Charlotte · Mecklenburg County · North Carolina
Official metro area
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001132

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Duke Energy CarolinasUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
120 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Community. As of an August 2023 report, Charlotte city staff declined to endorse the project over noise concerns, and Councilmember LaWana Slack-Mayfield said the industrial-scale use 'should be in an industrial area, not around residential homes.' Per subsequent 2026-06 reporting (found via search, not independently accessed again due to a paywall on the primary Axios/DCD pieces -- treat this paragraph as lower-confidence than the quoted evidence below): Charlotte enacted a 150-day, city-wide moratorium on new data-center construction (around 2026-06-09) to study infrastructure/noise/environmental …

What the source record says

120-acre, ~300 MW campus in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County. Distinct operator/parcel from the separately-tracked Digital Realty Charlotte site. Coordinates are the Charlotte centroid. Partner: American Real Estate Partners (AREP).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026 · source-reported under construction

    PowerHouse acquired 120 acres in Charlotte for a 300 MW campus

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID powerhouse-charlotte-nc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

Operator’s own listing

What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.

Listed by PowerHouse Data Centers on its website (captured 9 October 2026)
Name as listed
PowerHouse Charlotte
Address as published
Charlotte, NC

Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.

Site area: 122 acres. Scope campus · current or planned not stated. Site area as stated for this campus. Land area as stated; not building floor area. The source does not say whether the figure is live or planned. No effective date is stated; the capture date is not the measurement date. Open the operator’s page → Captured 9 October 2026.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Open the operator’s page → captured 9 October 2026

Matched to this licensed row on operator and city only: this is the one site the operator lists in this city and the only licensed row of that operator there, with reviewed subject identity; no address or boundary is established for this row.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001132

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Charlotte, NC · Mecklenburg (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: PowerHouse Data Centers

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 120 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Duke Energy Carolinas

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →