This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Legacy Investing North Loop (former Star Tribune printing plant).
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Legacy Investing
- Address and locality
- 800 North 1st Street · Minneapolis · Hennepin County · Minnesota · 55401
- Official metro area
- Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 20 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 18 September 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000859
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Land area
- 13 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
What the source record says
CBS reports "approximately 566,000 square feet" on 13 acres with "20 megawatts" of capacity; FOX 9 puts the building at "nearly 600,000 square feet". The Star Tribune vacated the Heritage printing facility in December 2025. Minneapolis adopted a moratorium on data centers over 350,000 sq ft; the city's preliminary zoning recommendations would require a conditional use permit and confine new data centers to the DT1/DT2 districts in existing buildings.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-07-30 · source-reported proposed
Legacy Investing reached an agreement to acquire the 13-acre former Star Tribune Heritage printing site; the project is pending city approvals.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- CBS News Minnesota — Data center company acquires former Star Tribune printing site (address, 13 acres, ~566,000 sq ft, 20 MW) · CBS News Minnesota
- FOX 9 — Data center proposed for former Star Tribune site sparks debate in Minneapolis · FOX 9 Minneapolis-St. Paul
- OpenStreetMap/Nominatim geocode — Star Tribune Heritage Center, 800 North 1st Street, Minneapolis, MN 55401 · OpenStreetMap contributors
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID legacy-investing-north-loop-minneapolis-mn. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000859
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- 800 North 1st Street, Minneapolis, MN 55401 · Hennepin (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: Legacy Investing
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-07-30 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 13 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 20 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-18
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.