Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000581

Equinix Great Oaks South Data Center (SV12, SV18, SV19)

source-reported permitted

Equinix

123 Great Oaks Boulevard · San Jose · Santa Clara County · California · 95119

Capacity not statedSource updated 14 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Equinix Great Oaks South Data Center (SV12, SV18, SV19).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Equinix
Address and locality
123 Great Oaks Boulevard · San Jose · Santa Clara County · California · 95119
Official metro area
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
14 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000581
Dated source review

The underlying provider record is retained. These notes add source-attributed context and flag conflicts; any withheld value is explained separately. They do not certify current operation.

  • Source review · reviewed 2026-10-11: Prior source review (2026-10-09): The CEQAnet notice records April 28, 2026 authorization for six additional emergency diesel generators S-23 through S-28 serving SV18, application 738296; the notice was received May 7, 2026. This is an air authorization, not evidence of building operation or approval of SV19. The description’s introductory “seven” conflicts with the specific application and concluding authorization, which say six. Historical document addendum reviewed 2026-10-11: The CEC's May 20, 2022 closing memorandum states that the Great Oaks South small power plant exemption was granted December 8, 2021. December 10, 2021 is the docketing date of the Commission Final Decision, not the grant date. The adoption order was docketed December 9 and the Notice of Determination December 13. The captured docket log generated October 10, 2026 lists the May 2022 closure memo as its latest entry; this observation is limited to that log and does not establish construction completion or operation.

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

On-site generation
99 MW (source-reported)On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
Land area
18 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Provider notes

Energy. CEC Small Power Plant Exemption 20-SPPE-01: 36 diesel-fired standby generators rated 3.25 MW each plus three 0.5-MW life-safety generators, 99 MW total.

What the source record says

Three two-story buildings of 182,350 sq ft each at 123, 127 and 131 Great Oaks Boulevard, applicant SV1, LLC (a subsidiary of Equinix, LLC). Distinct parcel from Equinix's existing Great Oaks campus buildings already tracked (SV1/SV2/SV4/SV8/SV15). Status recorded as permitted because the fetched source establishes the exemption, not a build state.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2021-12-10 · source-reported permitted

    CEC final decision granting the small power plant exemption for the Great Oaks South Backup Generating Facility; Notice of Determination 2021-12-13.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID equinix-great-oaks-south-san-jose-ca. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

State or local registry record

What a state or local government record says at this same street address. The record is cited, not republished. It does not establish that a data center is operating, its capacity, or its owner or operator unless the record says that role. It is not added to the counts on this page.

Same street address. The government record cites the same street as this record.

Great Oaks South Data Center

Publishing agency
California Energy Commission
Record type
energy siting case
Evidence scope
Additional evidence for the Great Oaks South project covering three buildings at 123, 127 and 131 Great Oaks Boulevard. 123 is the matching address, not the whole project address or a selection of one building. No current operation, capacity or certification is established.
Record identifiers
20-SPPE-01
Named in the record
SV1, LLC The record does not call this company the operator.

Factual fields cited to the named government page. DataCenterData does not republish the page or the underlying database. A permit, certification, tax status, or application does not by itself establish an operating data center.

What this record does not establish

  • That a permit, certification, tax status, or application means an operating data center.
  • Current IT capacity, utility load, or generation capacity.
  • Who operates the site. A company named in the record is not the operator unless the record says so.
  • Who owns the site.
  • Cooling redundancy. Mentioned equipment is not a design rating.
  • Whether the record covers one building, a campus, or a suite, beyond the unit label the record itself uses.
No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000581

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • 123 Great Oaks Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95119 · Santa Clara (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Equinix

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2021-12-10 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 18 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • On-site generation: 99 MW (source-reported)

    On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →