Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000555

Edged Prichard Data Center (Project Gateway)

source-reported proposed

Edged US

Prichard · Mobile County · Alabama

Reported planned 8 MWSource updated 28 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Edged Prichard Data Center (Project Gateway).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Edged US
Address and locality
Prichard · Mobile County · Alabama
Official metro area
Mobile, AL
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 8 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
28 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000555

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Announced investment
$93 millionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
20 permanent · 150 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Water. Developer's project site describes a closed-loop waterless cooling system that "consumes zero water for daily cooling operations" and is "projected to save approximately 23 million gallons of water annually" versus conventional cooling. FOX10 quotes the developer describing a closed-loop system using "virtually no municipal water once fully operating." A recirculating circuit with no daily makeup water ⇒ closed_loop under the cooling decision rule; it is NOT classified as `air` because a water circuit exists (it takes a fill). No withdrawal figure is stated.

Community. FOX10 (1 June 2026) records residents skeptical mainly about water: "I haven't heard the most glowing reviews...I'm skeptical" (Mark Nager) and "I know using all the water is bad i don't support it" (Magda DeHeart), with "largely negative online reactions" — Prichard has a documented history of water-system problems. …

What the source record says

Developer site states verbatim: "8MW, 57,000 SF building – roughly the size of a football field", "$93 million investment in the local community", "150–200 construction jobs supported during an approximately 18-month construction period", "20 permanent full-time positions upon completion", and "Approximately $16.7 million in projected annual economic impact, including $8.3 million supporting local schools". jobs.construction records the LOW end (150) of the stated 150-200 range rather than inventing a midpoint. FOX10 adds the ~20 jobs pay "over $70,000 annually". SUBSIDY: no incentive or abatement is mentioned on the developer's project site or in FOX10's coverage; this run did NOT check Prichard or Mobile County records, so that is an unchecked gap, not an audited negative. The $16.7M annual economic impact and $8.3M schools figure are developer projections, not incentives, and are deliberately not recorded as subsidies. STATUS: the developer's own site calls the project "proposed" and "being evaluated"; no construction start is reported. Coordinates are the Prichard municipal centroid — no street address appears in any fetched source.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID edged-gateway-prichard-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000555

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Prichard, AL · Mobile (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Edged US

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 8 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $93 million

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 20 permanent · 150 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-28

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →