Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000177

Project Blue

source-reported under construction

Beale Infrastructure

Pima County · Arizona

Reported planned 600 MWSource updated 23 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Project Blue.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Beale Infrastructure
Address and locality
Pima County · Arizona
Official metro area
Tucson, AZ
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 600 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
23 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000177

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Tucson Electric Power (TEP)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
290 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$3.6 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
180 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Energy. Tucson Electric Power is reported as the serving utility for the campus.

Water. Beale told Pima County it selected an air-cooling technology using a closed-loop system that continuously recirculates small amounts of water and consumes none for industrial cooling; the County Administrator restated this in the same memo, and it became a binding commitment on 2025-12-16. Water volume remains publicly contested — Beale has cited roughly 40 acre-feet/year while the ADWR permit ceiling is 96.5 acre-feet/year. The dispute concerns volume, construction conduct and process, not the cooling technology.

Community. Dozens of protesters organized as the No Desert Data Center Coalition rallied at the site as construction began in late April 2026, holding "Not One Drop For Data" signs and briefly attempting to block construction vehicles before Pima County sheriff's deputies moved them out of the roadway.

What the source record says

Unincorporated Pima County, west of Houghton Rd, near Tucson. 500-700MW planned across 13M sq ft (a range, so omitted from capacityMw). AWS confirmed as end-customer via an NDA obtained by AZ Luminaria. Distinct site from Beale Infrastructure's Fremont Peak Properties/Luckett Road project in the Town of Marana (also AZ, also tracked this session) - same developer family, different parcel. Coordinates are approximate. The 180 permanent jobs figure is a projection for the third year of operations in 2029, published by Pima County and by the developer. Beale's own letter of 2025-09-17 adds a qualifier the county FAQ omits: the figure "include[s] full-time contractors and support personnel", and at least 75 of the roles will be directly employed by the end user. Beale has also stated it "is not asking for property tax incentives, often a necessary component of a data center project's cost competitiveness", and the utility agreement with Tucson Electric Power carries no financial incentives or discounts — unusual for a project of this size, and the reason subsidies are recorded as absent rather than merely unsearched.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-04 · source-reported under construction

    Land clearing/grading began April 24, 2026, after county-level revival following the Tucson City Council's 2025 annexation rejection.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID beale-project-blue-pima-county-az. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000177

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • AZ · Pima (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Beale Infrastructure

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-04 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 290 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 600 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Tucson Electric Power (TEP)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $3.6 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 180 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-23

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →