campus · CA · last checked 18 September 2026

Northtown Data Center (NTDC)

Lifecycle label: proposed; effective date not established Status evidence: Governor's Office of Land Use and Climate Innovation (LCI) / State Clearinghouse CEQAnet, SCH 2026070839; Document Type row 'NOP - Notice of Preparation of a Draft EIR'; Document Description, first sentence. The CEQAnet date label for 2026-07-21 is 'Received' - receipt of the notice by the State Clearinghouse, not a publication or posting date. California Energy Commission project page for the NorthTown Backup Generating Facility, docket 25-SPPE-02, summary table row 'Project Status: Under Review'. A Notice of Preparation begins CEQA environmental review; it is not an approval, exemption, permit, entitlement, construction start or operation. Evidence: Independently source-linked Reuse: Reference only

Facts at a glance

Record ID
northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca
Record type
campus
Evidence confidence
medium
DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Not named in the cited records
Operator
Not named in the cited records
Owner
Owner of record not established
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
up to 97.3 MW Planned on-site generation · campus scope
Proposed emergency backup generation only. Both cited records describe up to 97.3 MW of backup emergency generation for the campus. This is not IT load, utility service capacity, or permitted generation, and it must not be summed with the 110 MVA substation rating.
Location
San Jose, CA
County: Santa Clara County
Approximate location — CEQAnet and the CEC page describe the site as the southwest corner of West Trimble Road and Orchard Parkway, San Jose, on parcels 101-02-018 and 101-02-021.
Physical scale
Two data-center buildings labelled DC North and DC West in the CEC notice.

What the sources support

A CEQAnet Notice of Preparation received on 21 July 2026, and the California Energy Commission project page for docket 25-SPPE-02, describe a proposed Northtown Data Center campus of two buildings in San Jose with a backup generating facility still under review. A notice of preparation is not an approval, permit, construction start or operation. A CEC Project Owner row for the backup-generating-facility docket is not campus ownership.

Definitions: record units · roles · capacity boundaries · lifecycle stages.

What remains unknown

Sources

Sourced classifications

Only values a cited source states for this site are shown; every other dimension is unknown. These are not national shares or rankings.

  • Power source: On-site generation (backup, diesel or renewable diesel) campus scope · official source · moderate confidence
    “The NorthTown Backup Generating Facility (NTBGF) would consist of a total of forty two (42) diesel- fired generators that would be used exclusively to provide up to 97.3 megawatts (MW) of backup emergency generation to support NorthTown Data Center (NTDC)” — NorthTown Backup Generating Facility — project page, Docket 25-SPPE-02, Project Description, first paragraph, retrieved 24 September 2026
    Not established: Exemption approval, installation or operation; normal power supplier; that the campus runs on diesel.

Connected records

Each connection below is a stored, reviewed relationship with its own basis. It does not change this record’s status.

Metro area: San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA by the record’s county in the Census 2023 delineation

Dated events

Real-world events recorded for this record, newest event date first. Each event page shows its source, dates and what it does not establish.

  1. Environmental review notice issuedOfficial recordCalifornia

    Environmental review notice issued on 21 July 2026: Northtown Data Center (NTDC) (San Jose, CA) — state energy commission notice of preparation dated 21 July 2026

    Event date
    Source dated
    Added to Latest updates

Record history

Record history · 21 July 2026 · DataCenterData review

northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca → Record

Why The State Clearinghouse received the CEC Notice of Preparation of a Draft EIR (SCH 2026070839). Received is not a publication or approval date.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

DataCenterData record added · 18 September 2026 · DataCenterData review

northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca → Publication

Why Added from the opened CEQAnet and CEC records. Backup-generation capacity is recorded as proposed onsite generation, not IT load.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca

Campus. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.

Location and precision

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Lifecycle

  • Recorded status: proposed

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Power capacity

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Not yet recorded here: Roles · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Data + actions

Permanent link for citing this record →

Suggest a correction → Record ID northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear on Changes.

Facility evidence across sources

Identity

Facility ID
dcd-fac-002544 (public id fac-002544)
Unit
campus
Name source
Northtown Data Center (NTDC) · DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca
Evidence tier
reviewed

Other names

Status by layer

LayerValueDateSource
Reviewed (DCD) · verified recordproposed
Status basis: A CEQAnet Notice of Preparation received on 21 July 2026, and the California Energy Commission project page for docket 25-SPPE-02, describe a proposed Northtown Data Center campus of two buildings in San Jose with a backup generating facility still under review. A notice of preparation is not an approval, permit, construction start or operation. A CEC Project Owner row for the backup-generating-facility docket is not campus ownership.
Latest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca

Capacity by kind

Each row is one kind of figure from one source. Utility, generation, design, critical IT and floor-area figures measure different things; they are never summed or totalled.

KindValue and evidenceScope and timingDateSource
Generation (MW)97.3 MW (up to)
Reviewed (DCD)

reviewed record

campusLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca

Location

City
San Jose
County
Santa Clara County
State
CA
Metro (CBSA)
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA 41940

Coordinates not published; precision is city-level.

Address as published by DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca. No member source publishes a street address for this facility.

Facts

Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.

No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.

Other values by layer

FieldValueLayer and basisDateSource
physical scaleTwo data-center buildings labelled DC North and DC West in the CEC notice.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca
classification.power sourceonsite_generationReviewed (DCD) · reviewed classificationLatest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-ca

Sources for the reviewed record

These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.

Details still needed

32 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.

  • Operator · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Street address · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Postal code · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Coordinates · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Map location precision · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Requested utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Company-announced design capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Site area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling technology · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Service · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Public registration · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register

Jurisdiction and policy actions

Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.

Updates, corrections and review

Last checked

How often we re-check

We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.

Update events

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

How complete the facility register is

Rights for this record

For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.

FieldSupplied byOriginLicenseAttributionRedistributable
current_nameDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
aliases[0]DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cityDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.countyDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.city_keyDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.stateDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cbsaDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
location.cbsa_nameDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
status_by_layer[0]DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
lifecycle_statusDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_basisDataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[0]DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[1]DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[2]DataCenterData reviewed record northtown-data-center-san-jose-cadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano