project · VA · last checked 19 September 2026

Google Watkins Centre Data Center Project

Lifecycle label: approved; effective date not established Status evidence: Chesterfield County data-center project status table as of July 2026, Watkins Centre row Evidence: Independently source-linked Reuse: Reference only

Facts at a glance

Record ID
google-watkins-centre-south-site-va
Record type
project
Evidence confidence
medium
DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Not named in the cited records
Operator
Not named in the cited records
Owner
Owner of record not established
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
Unknown No independently supported figure
No selected county record states critical-IT or other MW. The 349.97-acre figure is rezoning site area, not capacity. The county's 0.850 MGD maximum public water use is water, not IT load.
Location
750 Watkins Centre Parkway, VA
County: Chesterfield County
Approximate location — July 2026 county status-table locator. Case 25SN1040 lists multiple parcels under that parkway address.
Physical scale
Case 25SN1040 states a site size of 349.97 acres with uses limited to data centers. That is rezoning site area, not developed campus acreage, building count, floor area or IT load. The county status table does not specify a building count.

What the sources support

Chesterfield County's Data Center Project Status table as of July 2026 lists Watkins Centre at 750 Watkins Centre Parkway as zoning approved, with the number of buildings not specified. The county page states Upper Magnolia Green and Watkins Centre were rezoned for data-center use in May 2025. Opened Case 25SN1040 is a multi-parcel rezoning limited to data-center uses on about 349.97 acres. These records support an approved project. They do not establish a campus building count, construction, operation, current land title, an operator legal role, or any IT-load figure.

Definitions: record units · roles · capacity boundaries · lifecycle stages.

What remains unknown

Sources

Connected records

Each connection below is a stored, reviewed relationship with its own basis. It does not change this record’s status.

Metro area: Richmond, VA by the record’s county in the Census 2023 delineation

Dated events

Real-world events recorded for this record, newest event date first. Each event page shows its source, dates and what it does not establish.

  1. Rezoning approvedOfficial recordVirginia

    Rezoning approved on 28 May 2025: Google Watkins Centre Data Center Project (VA) — county board minutes dated 28 May 2025

    Event date
    Source dated
    Added to Latest updates

Record history

Record history · 28 May 2025 · DataCenterData review

google-watkins-centre-south-site-va → Record

Why Chesterfield Board of Supervisors public hearing date on Case 25SN1040; the county later describes Watkins Centre as rezoned for data-center use in May 2025.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Record history · 2026-07 · DataCenterData review

google-watkins-centre-south-site-va → Record

Why County status table listed Watkins Centre as zoning approved with the number of buildings not specified.

Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-va

Project. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.

Location and precision

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Lifecycle

  • Recorded status: approved

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Power capacity

  • Capacity — Not yet recorded here. Recorded reason: No selected county record states critical-IT or other MW. The 349.97-acre figure is rezoning site area, not capacity. The county's 0.850 MGD maximum public water use is water, not IT load.

Not yet recorded here: Roles · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Data + actions

Permanent link for citing this record →

State or local registry record

What a state or local government record says at this same street address. The record is cited, not republished. It does not establish that a data center is operating, its capacity, or its owner or operator unless the record says that role. It is not added to the counts on this page.

Same street address. The government record cites the same street as this record.

Watkins Centre

Publishing agency
Chesterfield County
Record type
county status table
Named in the record
Google The record does not call this company the operator.

Factual fields cited to the named government page. DataCenterData does not republish the page or the underlying database. A permit, certification, tax status, or application does not by itself establish an operating data center.

What this record does not establish

  • That a permit, certification, tax status, or application means an operating data center.
  • Current IT capacity, utility load, or generation capacity.
  • Who operates the site. A company named in the record is not the operator unless the record says so.
  • Cooling redundancy. Mentioned equipment is not a design rating.
  • Whether the record covers one building, a campus, or a suite, beyond the unit label the record itself uses.

Suggest a correction → Record ID google-watkins-centre-south-site-va and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear on Changes.

Facility evidence across sources

Identity

Facility ID
dcd-fac-002494 (public id fac-002494)
Unit
site (campus or building not established)
Name source
Google Watkins Centre Data Center Project · DataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-va
Evidence tier
reviewed

Other names

Status by layer

LayerValueDateSource
Reviewed (DCD) · verified recordapproved
Status basis: Chesterfield County's Data Center Project Status table as of July 2026 lists Watkins Centre at 750 Watkins Centre Parkway as zoning approved, with the number of buildings not specified. The county page states Upper Magnolia Green and Watkins Centre were rezoned for data-center use in May 2025. Opened Case 25SN1040 is a multi-parcel rezoning limited to data-center uses on about 349.97 acres. These records support an approved project. They do not establish a campus building count, construction, operation, current land title, an operator legal role, or any IT-load figure.
Latest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-va

Location

Street
750 Watkins Centre Parkway
City
Chesterfield County
County
Chesterfield County
State
VA
Metro (CBSA)
Richmond, VA 40060

Coordinates not published; precision is street-level.

Address as published by DataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-va.

Facts

Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.

No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.

Other values by layer

FieldValueLayer and basisDateSource
physical scaleCase 25SN1040 states a site size of 349.97 acres with uses limited to data centers. That is rezoning site area, not developed campus acreage, building count, floor area or IT load. The county status table does not specify a building count.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-va
publishing agencyChesterfield CountyPublic record (state or local) · state local recordSource retrieval/capture date State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007
record typecounty_status_tablePublic record (state or local) · state local recordSource retrieval/capture date State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007
named in recordGooglePublic record (state or local) · state local recordSource retrieval/capture date State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007

Sources for the reviewed record

These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.

Details still needed

31 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.

  • Operator · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Postal code · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Coordinates · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Map location precision · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Requested utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Generation capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Company-announced design capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Site area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling technology · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Service · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register

Jurisdiction and policy actions

Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.

Updates, corrections and review

Last checked

How often we re-check

We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.

Update events

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

How complete the facility register is

Rights for this record

For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.

FieldSupplied byOriginLicenseAttributionRedistributable
current_nameDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
aliases[0]DataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
aliases[1]State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007government factual citationfactual citationThe publishing agency named on the recordno
location.streetDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cityState or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007government factual citationfactual citationThe publishing agency named on the recordno
location.countyDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.street_keyDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.city_keyState or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007government factual citationfactual citationThe publishing agency named on the recordno
location.stateDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cbsaDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
location.cbsa_nameDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
status_by_layer[0]DataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
lifecycle_statusDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_basisDataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[0]DataCenterData reviewed record google-watkins-centre-south-site-vadcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[1]State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007government factual citationfactual citationThe publishing agency named on the recordno
layer_values[2]State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007government factual citationfactual citationThe publishing agency named on the recordno
layer_values[3]State or local registry record att:va-chesterfield:007government factual citationfactual citationThe publishing agency named on the recordno