Google Data Center Campus — Botetourt Center at Greenfield
Lifecycle label: approved; effective date not establishedEvidence: Independently source-linkedReuse: Reference only
Facts at a glance
Record ID
google-botetourt-greenfield
Record type
campus
Evidence confidence
high DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Google; exact legal entity not stated
Operator
Not named in the cited records
Owner
Owner of record not established
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
Unknown No independently supported figure
Location
Botetourt County, VA Approximate location — Botetourt Center at Greenfield; county reports a 312-acre purchase.
What the sources support
Botetourt County says grading plans and a land-disturbance permit were issued in August 2026 and its project page now says grading began at the site during the second week of September. Building construction and DEQ/state permit completion were not established. The grading-start sentence does not print a year, and the page retains an older Fall 2026 grading expectation.
Exact location Project Timeline; Public Engagement and Approval Timeline; Land Purchase; grading update (year not printed)
What it supports Google identity, named-site location, 312-acre purchase, agreement approvals and issued grading/land-disturbance permit. County page reports grading began; year of start is not printed.
Connected records
Each connection below is a stored, reviewed relationship with its own basis. It does not change this record’s status.
Metro area: Roanoke, VAby the record’s county in the Census 2023 delineation
Dated events
Real-world events recorded for this record, newest event date first. Each event page shows its source, dates and what it does not establish.
Why County says grading plans and a land-disturbance permit were issued in August 2026; exact day was not established and grading remained projected.
Evidence No additional evidence link; see the linked record or claim.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
Campus. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.
Location and precision
Shown above in Facts at a glance.
Roles
Shown above in Facts at a glance.
Lifecycle
Recorded status: approved
Power capacity
Capacity — Not yet recorded here.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.
approved Status basis: Botetourt County says grading plans and a land-disturbance permit were issued in August 2026 and its project page now says grading began at the site during the second week of September. Building construction and DEQ/state permit completion were not established. The grading-start sentence does not print a year, and the page retains an older Fall 2026 grading expectation.
Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.
No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.
Other values by layer
Field
Value
Layer and basis
Date
Source
developer
Google; exact legal entity not stated
Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed record
Latest source retrieval/capture date date not stated
These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.
34 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.
Operator · not recorded for this field in the register
Street address · not recorded for this field in the register
City · not recorded for this field in the register
Postal code · not recorded for this field in the register
Coordinates · not recorded for this field in the register
Map location precision · not recorded for this field in the register
Provider-reported status · not recorded for this field in the register
Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Requested utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Generation capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Company-announced design capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Provider-reported capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
Site area · not recorded for this field in the register
Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
Cooling technology · not recorded for this field in the register
Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
Service · not recorded for this field in the register
Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
Public registration · not recorded for this field in the register
Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register
Jurisdiction and policy actions
Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.
We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.
For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.
Field
Supplied by
Origin
License
Attribution
Redistributable
current_name
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
aliases[0]
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
aliases[1]
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
location.county
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
location.state
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
location.cbsa
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd original
CC-BY-4.0
DataCenterData
yes
location.cbsa_name
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd original
CC-BY-4.0
DataCenterData
yes
status_by_layer[0]
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
lifecycle_status
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
status_basis
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield
dcd reference only
reference only
DataCenterData
no
layer_values[0]
DataCenterData reviewed record google-botetourt-greenfield