Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001586

MACROHARDRR (xAI Southaven Data Center III)

source-reported operational

xAI

2400 Stateline Road West · Southaven · DeSoto County · Mississippi

Capacity not statedSource updated 13 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for MACROHARDRR (xAI Southaven Data Center III).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
xAI
Address and locality
2400 Stateline Road West · Southaven · DeSoto County · Mississippi
Official metro area
Memphis, TN-MS-AR
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
13 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001586

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Announced investment
$20 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
8 January 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

What the source record says

xAI's third Southaven/DeSoto County site, distinct from the existing dataset records for 'Colossus' (xai-southaven-ms, the data center at the former Electrolux plant) and 'Colossus 2' (xai-colossus-2-power-station-southaven-ms, the power station). MACROHARDRR retrofits an 810,000 sq ft former warehouse at 2400 Stateline Road West. Elon Musk announced the building purchase via X on 2025-12-30; Gov. Tate Reeves' office announced the '>$20 billion' investment and 'hundreds of permanent jobs throughout DeSoto County' on 2026-01-08, citing Mississippi's Data Center Incentive Program (sales/use tax exemptions on computing equipment and software) plus City of Southaven and DeSoto County fee-in-lieu agreements. xAI separately purchased two adjacent parcels (47 and 58 acres) near its power plant at 2875 Stanton Road; that acreage is not clearly attributable to this building's own site, so landAcres is omitted here rather than guessed. Musk's public claim that MACROHARDRR takes combined xAI Memphis-area training compute to '~2GW' describes the whole multi-site cluster, not this building's own capacity, so capacityMw is also omitted. Operational status is per Baxtel (aggregator, retrieved 2026-09-13); not yet independently corroborated by an xAI or Mississippi state press release stating a completion date, though a February 2026 operational target was reported at announcement.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID xai-macrohardrr-southaven-ms. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001586

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • 2400 Stateline Road West, Southaven, MS · DeSoto (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: xAI

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 8 January 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $20 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-13

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →