This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for xAI Tulane Road Data Center (Southaven).
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- xAI (SpaceXAI)
- Address and locality
- 8325 Tulane Road · Southaven · DeSoto County · Mississippi
- Official metro area
- Memphis, TN-MS-AR
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 7 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-002021
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 2 September 2026
What the source record says
xAI's fifth Memphis-area data center: a 660,000 sq ft building on the city's old training-facility property at 8325 Tulane Road, next to the xAI power plant on Stanton Road. xAI got the land in a land swap with Southaven and gave $40 million toward a new city training facility. Ward 2 Alderman Charles Hoots voted no, citing unfinished turbine-noise commitments. The coordinates are the OSM centroid of Tulane Road, not the parcel.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-09-02 · source-reported permitted
Southaven Board of Aldermen approved zoning changes (one dissenting vote) after a unanimous Planning Commission vote, for a 660,000 sq ft data center on the city's former training-facility site on Tulane Road, obtained through a land swap.
Sources and attribution
- Southaven approves new SpaceXAI data center, fifth location in area · Action News 5
- Southaven approves new XAI data center · DeSoto Times-Tribune
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1+reviewed-2610e0556b3d, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID xai-tulane-road-southaven-ms. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labelled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-002021
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- 8325 Tulane Road, Southaven, MS · DeSoto (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: xAI (SpaceXAI)
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2 September 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-09-02 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-07
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.