Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001429

Project Bunkhouse (Digital Realty Data Center Campus)

source-reported permitted

Digital Realty

Stilesboro · Bartow County · Georgia

Reported planned 1,300 MWSource updated 30 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Project Bunkhouse (Digital Realty Data Center Campus).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Digital Realty
Address and locality
Stilesboro · Bartow County · Georgia
Official metro area
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA
Source-reported status
permitted
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
30 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001429

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Georgia PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Cooling
Not establishedThe provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Reported water use
0.625 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Land area
876.57 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$19 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
800 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Utility is from the HIFLD retail service-territory layer, not a project statement. At the rezoning hearing the applicant's attorney said the site is adjacent to Plant Bowen and high-voltage transmission lines, and that "all the power will come off the existing lines and into the substation at the corner of Brandon Farm Road and Taff Road" (county minutes). No Georgia Power or Georgia PSC filing naming the project was found. The 1,830 MW figure is from a site plan reported by the AJC, not a utility filing.

Water. DRI #4433 estimates 0.625 MGD water supply demand and 0.625 MGD sewage flow, served by the Bartow County Water Department. The same filing states that "Bartow County has confirmed capacity for 0.25 MGD for water and wastewater service. At this time, no discussion has been had with Bartow County about capacity over 0.25 MGD." It also lists about 1 mile of water line extension and about 3.5 miles of 6-inch force main to the Brown Farm pump station. …

Community. Residents opposed the project at both public hearings. At the May 19, 2025 planning commission hearing, Valerie Holt, Amy Tilley and Lauren Van Winkle spoke against it (rural character, Taff Road traffic), and Joe Harris spoke in support of the landowners' right to sell; the commission still recommended approval unanimously (Daily Tribune). At the June 4, 2025 hearing, Patty Everett spoke in opposition, citing the loss of pasture and property values, and Gail Cochran asked whether Georgia Power would take her property for new transmission lines; the minutes record no other speakers. …

What the source record says

Applicant of record is Taurus DC SPE LLC (Bartow County rezoning case Z-25-00020); no source reviewed names a parent company for that entity. Operator: Bartow County's August 2026 policy statement refers to the campus as "Digital Realty's investment in the Stilesboro area". The county's minutes of the June 4, 2025 hearing, summarizing the presentation by the applicant's attorney, Scott Peters, record: "This is a Digital Realty project. It is not a Crypto center.", and Andrew Alves of Digital Realty appeared as part of the Project Bunkhouse team at the May 19, 2025 planning commission hearing (Daily Tribune). Digital Realty has not announced the project in its own press releases. Property owner per the DRI filing: Gaines Family Land LLC; the DRI's developer field names Brian B. West of Kimley-Horn (engineering consultant). Site: Taff Road south of GA Hwy 113, south of Georgia Power's Plant Bowen, also bordering Floyd Creek Church Road; tax parcels 0032-1184-001, 0032-1122-001, 0032a-003-002 and 0032b-003-006; Raccoon Creek runs along the property. Coordinates are the point stated in the DRI filing, not a surveyed site centroid. Size: the DRI filing states 8,675,000 sq ft; the approved rezoning caps total building area at 8,300,000 sq ft. Capacity: Bartow County's August 2026 data-center policy statement says "Digital Realty's investment in the Stilesboro area, planned for approximately 1.3 gigawatts of computing capacity, has indicated a total build-out capital investment on the order of eighteen billion dollars," and that Digital Realty "forecasts total employment in excess of 800 jobs once the campus is complete"; the 1.3 GW is recorded as planned capacity. Earlier, a site plan obtained by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution (April 2025) put the project's power needs at 1,830 MW with three on-site substations; the DRI filing's energy-demand field is blank. The same county statement says Bartow County has granted no tax abatements, PILOT or comparable arrangement to these data center facilities. Value: the DRI filing states an estimated build-out value of $19 billion and projected annual property tax of at least $40-50 million, with build-out estimated for 2035. Incentives: the DRI filing said the project was "in the process of incentive negotiations" with the Bartow-Cartersville Joint Development Authority; the county's economic development director, Melinda Lemmon, said that was "mistakenly included in the DRI filing" and that the authority "is not negotiating incentives with the data center calling themselves Project Bunkhouse or any other data center" (Daily Tribune, April 2, 2025). No bond validation, PILOT or abatement for the project has been found. Rezoning conditions include: an 8,300,000 sq ft cap; buffers required before occupancy; primary access from Taff Road only; distribution, manufacturing, warehousing, outdoor storage, towers, laboratories and retail prohibited; water-efficient HVAC required. Other DRI figures: about 8,588 average daily vehicle trips, about 29% impervious surface, wetlands, floodplain and historic resources present on site (impacts not expected per the filing). No building permits or site work have been reported since the rezoning.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-03-31 · source-reported proposed

    Bartow County submitted Development of Regional Impact #4433 ("Project Bunkhouse") to the Georgia DCA; determined to warrant regional review 2025-04-01.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-06-04 · source-reported permitted

    Sole Commissioner Steve Taylor approved rezoning case Z-25-00020 (applicant Taurus DC SPE LLC), 876.57 acres from A-1 to Business Park Development and the land-use map from Agricultural to Industrial, with conditions.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID taurus-digital-realty-project-bunkhouse-stilesboro-ga. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001429

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Stilesboro, GA · Bartow (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Digital Realty

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported permitted

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2025-03-31 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-06-04 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 876.57 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Georgia Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    The provider reports water information but no cooling type.

  • Reported water use: 0.625 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $19 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 800 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-30

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →