Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001188

PRSM Group Cumberland County AI Data Center (undisclosed industrial park)

source-reported proposed

PRSM Group

Cumberland County · North Carolina

Reported planned 225 MWSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for PRSM Group Cumberland County AI Data Center (undisclosed industrial park).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
PRSM Group
Address and locality
Cumberland County · North Carolina
Official metro area
Fayetteville, NC
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 225 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001188

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
50 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
1,500 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Water. Developer describes immersion cooling in a closed-loop system, with heat rejected through heat exchangers.

Community. Cumberland County commissioners held a public hearing on a proposed data-center moratorium (2026-05-18) at which 21 speakers spoke in favor of a temporary ban, citing PFAS contamination from cooling systems, grid/water-infrastructure stress, farmland/ecosystem impact, rising residential electricity rates, and broken past job-creation promises. PRSM Group partner Eric Little presented this specific 225MW project at the same hearing and asked commissioners to 'reject a moratorium'; Fayetteville PWC's CEO also argued no moratorium was needed. Commissioners took no formal action that day. …

What the source record says

The developer declined to disclose the site beyond 'an industrial park, not near residences', so coordinates are a Cumberland County-level approximation only. The end user is an unnamed PRSM client, not PRSM itself. Developer said he does not expect the project to advance before a moratorium is enacted.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-05-18 · source-reported proposed

    PRSM Group partner Eric Little told Cumberland County commissioners at a moratorium hearing that a client wants to build a 225 MW AI data center on 50 acres in an unnamed local industrial park, in two 1 million sq ft stages.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID prsm-group-cumberland-county-nc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001188

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • NC · Cumberland (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: PRSM Group

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Status history: 2026-05-18 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 50 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 225 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 1,500 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →