Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000749

Google The Dalles Data Center Campus

source-reported operational

Google

The Dalles · Wasco County · Oregon

Reported operational 300 MWSource updated 12 October 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google The Dalles Data Center Campus.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
The Dalles · Wasco County · Oregon
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Operational: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
12 October 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000749

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Northern Wasco County PUDUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
HydroProvider label.
Cooling
EvaporativeProvider label.
Reported water use
1.51 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Announced investment
$1.8 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced jobs
200 permanentAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2005Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Oregon Enterprise Zone (Wasco County) — 2005, 2013, and 2015 15-year property-tax abatement agreements; the city projects ~$45.78M in community payments over the 2013 and 2015 terms · The Dalles / Wasco County, OR · 2005/2013/2015 Open cited source →
  • Oregon Strategic Investment Program (SIP) — 2021 agreement, 15-year abatement (payment amounts pending final valuation) · The Dalles / Wasco County, OR · 2021 Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Powered largely by Bonneville Power Administration Columbia River hydropower via Northern Wasco County PUD, supplemented by a 100+ MW wind PPA (Avangrid/Leaning Juniper IIB). Google claims a 100% renewable match.

Water. City records released after a 2021–22 public-records lawsuit — which the city, funded by Google (>$100K), later dropped — show Google consumed 355.1M gallons in 2021 (~29% of The Dalles' total water use), up from 104.3M gallons in 2012. Google committed $28.5M to upgrade city water infrastructure.

Community. The city sued The Oregonian/OregonLive (with Google funding >$100K) to block release of Google's water data, then settled in December 2022 and released a decade of records. Concerns span water (Yakama Nation fishers and Dog River endangered-fish habitat), school funding, and abatement scale; Oregon enacted a 2025–26 pause on new data-center incentives.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

Historical event dates held out.

The prior provider edition dated construction to 2005 and operation to 2006. This capture replaces both years with 2026-10-13 without establishing new event dates. The conflicting dates are withheld; no new construction or opening event is established.

  1. Date withheld after review · source-reported under construction

    Open cited source →

  2. Date withheld after review · source-reported operational

    One of Google's earliest major data center campuses; expanded multiple times through 2023

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-the-dalles-or. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000749

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • The Dalles, OR · Wasco (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2005

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: Date withheld after review · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: Date withheld after review · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Operational: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Northern Wasco County PUD

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Hydro

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Evaporative

    Provider label.

  • Reported water use: 1.51 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1.8 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Announced jobs: 200 permanent

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Oregon Enterprise Zone (Wasco County) — 2005, 2013, and 2015 15-year property-tax abatement agreements; the city projects ~$45.78M in community payments over the 2013 and 2015 terms · The Dalles / Wasco County, OR · 2005/2013/2015

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Oregon Strategic Investment Program (SIP) — 2021 agreement, 15-year abatement (payment amounts pending final valuation) · The Dalles / Wasco County, OR · 2021

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-10-12

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →