Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000745

Google Project Spade Campus

source-reported under construction

Google

New Florence · Montgomery County · Missouri

Reported planned 1,200 MWSource updated 25 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google Project Spade Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
New Florence · Montgomery County · Missouri
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
25 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000745
Dated source review

The underlying provider record is retained. These notes add source-attributed context and flag conflicts; any withheld value is explained separately. They do not certify current operation.

  • Source review · reviewed 2026-10-09: Google’s official data-center locations index lists “New Florence, Missouri.” This provides operator-and-city context only. It does not establish that the location covers this row’s particular project name, parcel, building boundaries, capacity or operating status.

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Ameren MissouriUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
934 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
January 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Community. County commissioners unanimously approved; opposition group Preserve Montgomery County filed a Missouri Sunshine Law lawsuit against the commissioners (Feb 2026).

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The source note identifies $15 billion as Google’s Missouri statewide infrastructure pledge; the campus itself is described only as multi-billion-dollar.

What the source record says

DISTINCT from aws-green-new-florence-mo (AWS Project Green): the two are on opposite sides of I-70 (Project Green north; Project Spade south, SE quadrant of the I-70/Hwy 19 interchange) - independently verified via DCD and Columbia Missourian. Site ~934 acres (~780 unincorporated + ~130 in New Florence). Developer: Related Digital. Campus targets 1.2 GW. INVESTMENT OMITTED: the $15B is Google's Missouri-STATEWIDE infrastructure pledge ('Google will invest $15 billion in building infrastructure in Missouri, including a data center in New Florence'); the campus itself is described only as 'multi-billion-dollar', so no firm campus investmentUsd is recorded. Amended from three buildings to two ~800,000 sq ft buildings; first operations targeted 2028. ~2,000 construction jobs and 'hundreds' of permanent jobs are projections (in notes, not jobs). Coordinates are an approximate site centroid (no verified parcel record).

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-01 · source-reported proposed

    Google confirmed as Project Spade end user; administrative review completed

  2. 2026-03 · source-reported permitted

    Construction permits delivered

  3. 2026-04-01 · source-reported under construction

    Ground broken

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-spade-new-florence-mo. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000745

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • New Florence, MO · Montgomery (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: January 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-01 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-03 · source-reported permitted

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-04-01 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 934 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Ameren Missouri

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-25

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →