This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Project Dazzler.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- Franklin Furnace · Scioto County · Ohio
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 26 July 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000734
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- AEP Ohio
- Land area
- 792 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $1 billion
- Community response
- Provider label: litigation
Provider notes
Community. A Scioto County resident sued the county commissioners in Common Pleas Court alleging Ohio Open Meetings Act violations (closed executive sessions) in negotiating the Community Reinvestment Area tax agreement tied to the Google project; the suit followed documented resident pushback at a township meeting.
What the source record says
792-acre site in Green Township, east of the Ohio River. 500,000 sq ft phase 1, up to 1.7M sq ft total. Ohio EPA wetlands permit ('Project Dazzler') administratively complete March 2026; 75%/15-year tax abatement. Distinct from other tracked Google Ohio sites (Lancaster, Project BOSC-Lima, New Albany).
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-03-06 · source-reported permitted
792-acre site east of the Ohio River; Ohio EPA wetlands permit administratively complete March 2026; 500,000 sq ft phase 1, up to 1.7M sq ft total.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Google confirmed as company behind 500,000 sq ft data center in Scioto County, Ohio · Data Center Dynamics
- Scioto County data center moves closer to construction as key environmental permit clears state review · Scioto Valley Guardian
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- Scioto County Daily News — "Commissioners Respond to Open Meetings Lawsuit Over Data Center"
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-project-dazzler-franklin-furnace-oh. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000734
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Franklin Furnace, OH · Scioto (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026-03-06 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 792 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: AEP Ohio
Utility as named by the provider.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: litigation
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-07-26
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.