Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000731

Google Palo Data Center Campus

source-reported proposed

Google

Palo · Linn County · Iowa

Capacity not statedSource updated 14 August 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google Palo Data Center Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
Palo · Linn County · Iowa
Official metro area
Cedar Rapids, IA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
14 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000731

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
NextEra Energy (Duane Arnold Energy Center)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
NuclearProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedThe provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Reported water use
12 million gallons per day (source-reported)Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
6 October 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Google is helping recommission the Duane Arnold Energy Center with the intention that it power this campus; Iowa Public Radio reported the plant would supply over 90 percent of the data center's power, about 565 MW. That is a plant-supply figure, not a confirmed IT load for the campus.

Water. Iowa Public Radio (2026-03-04) reported the proposed project's water usage at approximately 12 million gallons per day. Linn County's data center ordinance required a water balance study; that study was funded through the county development framework and is 'on pause' after Google moved to annex into Palo instead.

Community. Residents raised water and energy use, noise and light pollution at months of Palo public meetings. Linn County supervisors objected to Google pursuing annexation into Palo to avoid county water-use and economic agreements; Supervisor Sami Scheetz called the workaround 'fundamentally wrong.' Linn County adopted an 18-month moratorium (effective 2026-07-01) on new EU-3 large-scale data center rezoning applications, and Palo passed its own data center ordinance on 2026-07-21.

What the source record says

Proposed campus of up to six buildings on land near the Duane Arnold Energy Center in unincorporated Linn County near Palo. Distinct site from Google's existing Cedar Rapids data center at the Big Cedar Industrial Center. No construction timeline set; Google shifted from county approval to annexation into the City of Palo in February 2026.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-10-06 · source-reported proposed

    Google approached the Linn County Board of Supervisors about a project of up to six buildings near the Duane Arnold Energy Center.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-palo-ia. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000731

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Palo, IA · Linn (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 6 October 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-10-06 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: NextEra Energy (Duane Arnold Energy Center)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Nuclear

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    The provider reports water information but no cooling type.

  • Reported water use: 12 million gallons per day (source-reported)

    Whether this is metered use, a permit limit or a request is not established; see the provider water note.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-08-14

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →