Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000717

Google Jackson County Campus

source-reported operational

Google

Stevenson · Jackson County · Alabama

Capacity not statedSource updated 28 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Google Jackson County Campus.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Google
Address and locality
Stevenson · Jackson County · Alabama
Official metro area
Outside an official metropolitan boundary
Source-reported status
operational
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
28 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000717

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
North Alabama Electric Co-opUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
360 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$1.5 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
24 June 2015Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Powered by TVA (federal utility). Google covers 100% of its power and infrastructure costs. Kairos Power advanced-nuclear partnership (up to 50 MW for the AL/TN region) expected ~2035.

Water. Site sits on Guntersville Reservoir (Tennessee River), which historically cooled the coal plant; data-center cooling type not publicly confirmed.

Community. $2M Energy Impact Fund (with TVA/CAANEAL) for weatherization; $550,000 STEM-kit donation to Jackson County schools; Google reports training 130,000+ Alabamians in digital skills; watershed stewardship in the Paint Rock River watershed.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced construction jobs: The source note says the 1,000-plus construction workforce is a projection kept in the notes, not in the jobs field.

What the source record says

Campus operational since 2019 at the former TVA Widows Creek coal-plant site (~4.8 mi east of Stevenson). Recorded status is 'operational' (the campus is built and running); a $1.5B expansion announced June 15 2026 is under construction for 2026-2027 (captured in statusHistory). CAPACITY OMITTED: the widely cited 300 MW is Google's contracted new generation across the Tennessee Valley REGION, not a campus-specific figure. TVA partnership also includes a 2025 Kairos Power agreement for up to 50 MW of advanced nuclear for Google's AL/TN data centers (~2035). Construction workforce of 1,000+ is a projection (in notes, not jobs). Baxtel labels this 'Google Bridgeport'; TVA/Wikipedia/postal (35772) place Widows Creek near Stevenson - Stevenson used. 360-acre site; coordinates from the Widows Creek plant.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2015-06-24 · source-reported proposed

    Google announced a $600M data center at the former TVA Widows Creek coal-plant site in Jackson County

  2. 2018-04 · source-reported under construction

    Groundbreaking on the original $600M campus; 360-acre site off County Road 96

  3. 2019-01 · source-reported operational

    Original campus operational with two buildings (~135,000 sq ft each)

  4. 2026-06-15 · source-reported under construction

    $1.5B expansion announced; construction planned for 2026-2027; 1,000+ contract workers expected

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-jackson-county-stevenson-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000717

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Stevenson, AL · Jackson (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: Google

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported operational

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 24 June 2015

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2015-06-24 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2018-04 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2019-01 · source-reported operational

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-06-15 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 360 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: North Alabama Electric Co-op

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $1.5 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-28

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →