Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000350

Project Flash (Summit View Business Park)

source-reported cancelled

Crusoe

Rocky Mount · Franklin County · Virginia

Capacity not statedSource updated 9 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Project Flash (Summit View Business Park).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Crusoe
Address and locality
Rocky Mount · Franklin County · Virginia
Official metro area
Roanoke, VA
Source-reported status
cancelled
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
9 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000350

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Community response
Provider label: opposedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
Announced
16 July 2026Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Community. More than 100 residents gathered at the Scruggs Volunteer Fire Department over water, electricity and quality-of-life impacts; residents learned of the project only through FOIA requests and demanded answers from the county.

What the source record says

Project surfaced via Freedom of Information Act requests to Franklin County; the county had been in discussions with Crusoe since November 2025. County-owned Summit View Business Park totals 540 acres along US 220 and reportedly has grid and natural gas infrastructure; roughly 150 acres of it were under discussion. DCD reported the project 'may total 50-100MW' — a range, not a settled figure, so no capacity value is recorded here.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-08-16 · source-reported cancelled

    Boone District Supervisor Mike Meredith announced the county had received verification that the project would not move forward. No agreements were ever reached and no votes were taken on data center development in Franklin County.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID crusoe-project-flash-franklin-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000350

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Rocky Mount, VA · Franklin (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Crusoe

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported cancelled

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 16 July 2026

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2026-08-16 · source-reported cancelled

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: opposed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-09

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →