This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Compass Datacenters Lauderdale County Hyperscale Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Compass Datacenters
- Address and locality
- Meridian · Lauderdale County · Mississippi
- Official metro area
- Outside an official metropolitan boundary
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 7 October 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000303
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Mississippi Power
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Not established
- Community response
- Provider label: mixed
- AI-use label (provider)
- likely
- Announced
- 9 January 2025
Incentives reported by the source
Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Mississippi Data Center Incentive - 10-year state income and franchise tax exemption Open cited source →
- Mississippi Data Center Incentive - sales and use tax exemption on construction materials, equipment, and hardware/software Open cited source →
- Lauderdale County site grant ($4M via the Mississippi Legislature) Open cited source →
- MDA additional site-preparation grant (amount unspecified) Open cited source →
- 10-year state income and franchise tax exemption · Mississippi · 2025 Open cited source →
- Sales and use tax exemption on construction materials, equipment and software/hardware replacements · Mississippi · 2025 Open cited source →
Provider notes
Energy. Mississippi Power to supply ~500 MW; the utility invested in a dedicated substation at the I-20/59 Industrial Park to enable the campus.
Water. Compass describes its campuses as using "Advanced hybrid cooling that uses no water during operations". coolingType is left unset: the phrase is company boilerplate and "hybrid" there refers to Compass's air/liquid heat-capture approach at the rack, which docs/methodology.md explicitly says is NOT this field's meaning. A waterless claim points to `air`, but the methodology's tie-breaker requires knowing whether a recirculating water circuit exists, and no fetched source for this campus says.
Community. Named both 'worst economic development deal of 2025' (Center for Economic Accountability) and 'best' (Business Facilities magazine).
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Announced investment: The source note says the $10 billion figure is a projected full-occupancy total that includes future tenants’ IT equipment, not a firm Compass outlay, and that investment was omitted.
- Announced construction jobs: The source note describes the jobs outlook only as a general projection, not a reported construction count.
- Land area: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.
What the source record says
Eight-data-center campus over an eight-year buildout at the I-20/59 Industrial Park, Meridian. Groundbreaking Jan 28 2025 (under construction). Mississippi Power to supply ~500 MW via a dedicated substation. INVESTMENT OMITTED: the widely cited $10B is a projected full-occupancy total INCLUDING future tenants' IT equipment ('an investment of $10 billion, including future tenants' information technology equipment'), not a firm Compass outlay. 'Thousands of jobs' is a projection. First confirmed tenant: Corderill LLC ($100M equipment, 20 jobs, April 2026). Coordinates are the Meridian centroid (no parcel coordinates published).
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2025-01-09 · source-reported proposed
Campus announced by Compass Datacenters; confirmed by the Mississippi Development Authority and Governor's office
- 2025-01-28 · source-reported under construction
Official groundbreaking ceremony at the I-20/59 Industrial Park, Meridian
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Compass Datacenters Project Generates $10B Investment in Lauderdale County · Mississippi Development Authority
- Compass Datacenters Project Generates $10B Investment - Governor's Office · Office of Governor Tate Reeves
- Compass Project Generates $10B Investment in Lauderdale County · Compass Datacenters
- Compass to develop $10 billion data center campus in Mississippi · Data Center Dynamics
- Compass Data Centers hosts official groundbreaking ceremony in Lauderdale County · WTOK
- Mississippi's Data Center Boom · Mississippi Independent
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- Lauderdale County gives statement on Compass Data Center · WTOK-TV
- COVER STORY: Data Center Boom Comes to Mississippi — Mississippi Power to supply 'about 500 megawatts of power to the site' · Site Selection Magazine
- Compass Datacenters to Invest $10 Billion in Lauderdale County · Mississippi Business Journal
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID compass-lauderdale-meridian-ms. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000303
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): likely
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- Meridian, MS · Lauderdale (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Compass Datacenters
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 9 January 2025
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2025-01-09 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
- Status history: 2025-01-28 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Mississippi Power
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
Provider label: unknown.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: mixed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
- Incentive reported by the source: Mississippi Data Center Incentive - 10-year state income and franchise tax exemption
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Mississippi Data Center Incentive - sales and use tax exemption on construction materials, equipment, and hardware/software
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Lauderdale County site grant ($4M via the Mississippi Legislature)
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: MDA additional site-preparation grant (amount unspecified)
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: 10-year state income and franchise tax exemption · Mississippi · 2025
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
- Incentive reported by the source: Sales and use tax exemption on construction materials, equipment and software/hardware replacements · Mississippi · 2025
Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-10-07
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.