Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000258

CloudHQ Mount Prospect (ORD) Campus

source-reported under construction

CloudHQ

Mount Prospect · Cook County · Illinois

Capacity not statedSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for CloudHQ Mount Prospect (ORD) Campus.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
CloudHQ
Address and locality
Mount Prospect · Cook County · Illinois
Official metro area
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000258

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
ComEdUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Land area
49.7 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced investment
$2.5 billionAnnounced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Announced
2022Provider-reported announcement date.

What the source record says

$2.5B, ~1.5 million sq ft across three two-story hyperscale buildings (each >80 MW) on a 49.7-acre site; ComEd grid partnership. Update: the village board approved a revised plan (~Oct 2025) consolidating the original three two-story buildings into two three-story buildings plus a second electrical substation, superseding the building-count description above; confirmed delivery targets are the first building in 2027 and the second by end of 2030. As of July 2026, CloudHQ was mid-permitting the revised design (~3,700 drawing sheets, 1,500+ pages of structural calcs); the village hired outside firm HR Green to review it. Construction is active, with cranes on the fenced 50-acre site as of January 2026. Public-reception check (2026-09-10): Could not get past a paywall/block for the Daily Herald's Mount Prospect coverage or the original CloudHQ groundbreaking press release (both 403'd). Notable circumstantial signal: the Village of Mount Prospect maintains its own dedicated 'Community Information and Fact Check Portal' page specifically for this project (URL found via search, itself 403'd on fetch), which typically indicates the village has been fielding enough resident questions/concerns to warrant an official FAQ/rebuttal page -- but I could not retrieve its actual content, so I am not asserting a status from an inference I couldn't verify. Also found (via search, not independently fetched) reporting that Illinois data-center opposition broadly 'escalates' statewide and that the village sought outside help on Biometric Information Privacy Act (BIPA)-related permitting questions, neither of which I could confirm as specific to community opposition at this site. Reporting 'unknown' rather than guessing.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2022-08 · source-reported under construction

    Groundbreaking with ComEd on hyperscale campus

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-10 · source-reported under construction

    Village board approved a revised plan consolidating the original three two-story buildings into two three-story buildings plus a second electrical substation. First building targeted for 2027, second for end of 2030.

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-07 · source-reported under construction

    Mid-permitting the revised design (~3,700 drawing sheets, 1,500+ pages of structural calcs); village hired outside firm HR Green to review it. Cranes active on the fenced 50-acre site as of January 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID cloudhq-mount-prospect-ord-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000258

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

Location and precision

  • Mount Prospect, IL · Cook (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: CloudHQ

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2022

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2022-08 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025-10 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026-07 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 49.7 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Not stated

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: ComEd

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced investment: $2.5 billion

    Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →