project · IN · last checked 12 September 2026

Amazon / NIPSCO northern Indiana service program

Lifecycle label: approved; effective date not established Evidence: Independently source-linked Reuse: Reference only

Facts at a glance

Record ID
amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
Record type
project
Evidence confidence
high
DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Amazon Data Services, Inc.
Operator
Not named in the cited records
Owner
Owner of record not established
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
2.4 GW Utility service · full build-out scope
Contracted northern Indiana multi-site load at full ramp; allocation among individual Amazon sites is confidential/unknown and this is not IT capacity or current demand.
Location
IN
Location precision not recorded — The order concerns multiple northern Indiana facilities and does not publicly allocate load to named sites.

What the sources support

The IURC approved NIPSCO's special contract with Amazon Data Services on June 17, 2026. Service commencement by January 1, 2027 and ramp to full load by the end of 2032 are contractual milestones not yet due, not observed outcomes.

Definitions: record units · roles · capacity boundaries · lifecycle stages.

What remains unknown

Sources

Sourced classifications

Only values a cited source states for this site are shown; every other dimension is unknown. These are not national shares or rankings.

  • Power counterparty: Northern Indiana Public Service Company LLC — Utility under a customer-specific contract (agreement approved) project scope · official source · high confidence
    “NIPSCO is seeking to supply retail service to Amazon Data Services, Inc. (“Amazon”). Amazon is in the business of data center development in northern Indiana, with operations expected to begin by January 1, 2027” — Order of the Commission, Cause No. 46322 (NIPSCO and NIPSCO Generation LLC — Data Center Customer #1 Special Contract), PDF p.3, ¶3 (supply statement); ordering paragraph 2, PDF p.41 ('The Customer Contract is approved.'), retrieved 24 September 2026
    Not established: Which specific data-center sites are served (Exhibit A-2 locations are confidential); MW actually drawn; that the 2,400 MW ramp occurs.

Connected records

Each connection below is a stored, reviewed relationship with its own basis. It does not change this record’s status.

Policy records

Dated events

Real-world events recorded for this record, newest event date first. Each event page shows its source, dates and what it does not establish.

  1. Utility contract approvedOfficial recordIndiana

    Utility contract approved on 17 June 2026: Amazon / NIPSCO northern Indiana service program (IN) — utility commission order dated 17 June 2026

    Event date
    Source dated
    Added to Latest updates

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service

Project. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.

This is a contract/program ledger, not an additional physical campus. It exists to prevent 2,400 MW, 3,000 MW generation and water-agreement facts from being misassigned to Hobart, New Carlisle or Wheatfield.

Location and precision

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Roles

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Lifecycle

  • Recorded status: approved

Power capacity

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.
  • Power detail: Up to 2,400 MW Amazon load by end-2032; 3,000 MW planned generation; projected $1.1B customer credits and approximately $7/month residential credit at full ramp approved contract terms and regulatory projections, not observed outcomes

    Recorded with its stated kind; not a measured load and not comparable across records.

  • ISO / RTO: MISO
  • Serving utility: NIPSCO project scope

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling and water: The order references a confidential-site water agreement but does not establish which facility, quantity or cooling architecture.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Projected permanent jobs: not established Announced jobs · project scope

    not established

    Announced job figures are not observed headcount. Different scopes stay separate.

  • Announced investment: not established multi-site program scope

    Announced figure, not spending.

  • Incentives and commitments: Amazon bears customer-specific and specified MISO costs. The order permits NIPSCO to seek later allocation of transmission costs to other customers if it proves shared benefits in a future docket; therefore zero ratepayer risk is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Fields with recorded verification: contract approval; cluster load ceiling; term and reporting duties verified field list · project scope

    Only the fields in this list are recorded as verified. A stored number outside this list is not treated as verified.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Next research question

  • Annual actual-versus-forecast demand/capacity filing; service start by 2027-01-01; transmission-study dockets; full-ramp projection at year-end 2032.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Data + actions

Permanent link for citing this record →

Suggest a correction → Record ID amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear on Changes.

Facility evidence across sources

Identity

Facility ID
dcd-fac-002432 (public id fac-002432)
Unit
site (campus or building not established)
Name source
Amazon / NIPSCO northern Indiana service program · DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
Evidence tier
reviewed

Status by layer

LayerValueDateSource
Reviewed (DCD) · verified recordapproved
Status basis: The IURC approved NIPSCO's special contract with Amazon Data Services on June 17, 2026. Service commencement by January 1, 2027 and ramp to full load by the end of 2032 are contractual milestones not yet due, not observed outcomes.
Latest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service

Capacity by kind

Each row is one kind of figure from one source. Utility, generation, design, critical IT and floor-area figures measure different things; they are never summed or totalled.

KindValue and evidenceScope and timingDateSource
Utility power (MW)2400 MW
Reviewed (DCD)

reviewed record

full buildoutLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service

Power and cooling on record

Records are grouped by system and may describe requests or plans. A highlighted group does not prove every named component is installed or operating. Labels name the source, not a confidence rating. A part with no record here may still exist. Each part links to how it works.

  1. 1 Grid connection and substation Reviewed record

    Based on: Utility power (reviewed), Serving utility (reviewed) · See the evidence

  2. 2 Transformers and switchgear No record found yet
  3. 3 Backup generators No record found yet
  4. 4 Data halls and servers No record found yet
  5. 5 Cooling inside the building No record found yet
  6. 6 Heat out No record found yet
  7. 7 Water in and out No record found yet

Location

State
IN

Coordinates not published; precision is unknown-level.

Address as published by DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service. No member source publishes a street address for this facility.

Facts

Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.

No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.

Other values by layer

FieldValueLayer and basisDateSource
developerAmazon Data Services, Inc.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
utilityNIPSCOReviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
isoMISOReviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
power detailUp to 2,400 MW Amazon load by end-2032; 3,000 MW planned generation; projected $1.1B customer credits and approximately $7/month residential credit at full rampReviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
cooling waterThe order references a confidential-site water agreement but does not establish which facility, quantity or cooling architecture.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
incentives commitmentsAmazon bears customer-specific and specified MISO costs. The order permits NIPSCO to seek later allocation of transmission costs to other customers if it proves shared benefits in a future docket; therefore zero ratepayer risk is not established.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service
classification.power counterpartyNorthern Indiana Public Service Company LLC — Utility under a customer-specific contract (agreement approved)Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed classificationLatest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-service

Sources for the reviewed record

These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.

Details still needed

34 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.

  • Operator · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Street address · not recorded for this field in the register
  • City · not recorded for this field in the register
  • County · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Postal code · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Metropolitan area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Coordinates · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Map location precision · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Requested utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Generation capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Company-announced design capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Site area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Service · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Public registration · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register

Jurisdiction and policy actions

Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.

Updates, corrections and review

Last checked

How often we re-check

We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.

Update events

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

How complete the facility register is

Rights for this record

For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.

FieldSupplied byOriginLicenseAttributionRedistributable
current_nameDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.stateDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_by_layer[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
lifecycle_statusDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_basisDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[1]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[2]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[3]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[4]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[5]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[6]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[7]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[1]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-nipsco-northern-indiana-servicedcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano