project · IN · last checked 12 September 2026

Amazon Hobart — SBN520

Lifecycle label: proposed; effective date not established Evidence: Independently source-linked Reuse: Reference only

Facts at a glance

Record ID
amazon-hobart-sbn520
Record type
project
Evidence confidence
high
DataCenterData’s confidence in this record’s sourced fields, not in the project
Developer
Amazon Data Services, Inc.
Operator
Not named in the cited records
Owner
Amazon Data Services, Inc.
Tenant
Not named in the cited records
Capacity
Unknown No independently supported figure
Location
4751 E. 61st Avenue, Hobart, IN
County: Lake County
Exact location

What the sources support

IDEM received an air-permit application describing six proposed data-center buildings. An application is not an issued permit or construction milestone.

Definitions: record units · roles · capacity boundaries · lifecycle stages.

What remains unknown

Sources

Sourced classifications

Only values a cited source states for this site are shown; every other dimension is unknown. These are not national shares or rankings.

  • Power source: On-site generation (backup, diesel or renewable diesel) project scope · official source · moderate confidence
    “Each emergency generator is composed of two (2) distinct parts, a diesel engine and the associated electric generator.” — Application for New Source Minor PSD/EO Construction Approval and FESOP, Site SBN520/750 (prepared by Ramboll for Amazon Data Services, Inc.), PDF p.5, 2. Project Description; per-site count PDF p.4 ('SBN520 will have one hundred and seventy (170) emergency back-up generators'), retrieved 24 September 2026
    Not established: Permit issuance; installation; that the site runs on generators; the utility supplier; the application also allows renewable diesel.

Connected records

Each connection below is a stored, reviewed relationship with its own basis. It does not change this record’s status.

Metro area: Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN by the record’s county in the Census 2023 delineation

Dated events

Real-world events recorded for this record, newest event date first. Each event page shows its source, dates and what it does not establish.

  1. Air permit application receivedOfficial recordIndiana

    Air permit application received on 24 July 2026: Amazon Data Services — Hobart project (Hobart, IN) — state air permit application record dated 24 July 2026

    Event date
    Source dated
    Added to Latest updates

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520

Project. Independently reviewed record. Values are shown with their recorded basis.

Child of the Hobart parent project; excluded from parent-level counts.

Identity and relationships

  • Other names: SBN520

Location and precision

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Roles

  • Shown above in Facts at a glance.

Lifecycle

  • Recorded status: proposed

Power capacity

  • Power detail: not allocated from NIPSCO cluster

    Recorded with its stated kind; not a measured load and not comparable across records.

  • ISO / RTO: MISO
  • Capacity — Not yet recorded here.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling and water: unknown

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Projected permanent jobs: not allocated from parent Announced jobs · project scope

    not established

    Announced job figures are not observed headcount. Different scopes stay separate.

  • Announced investment: not allocated from parent site scope

    Announced figure, not spending.

  • Incentives and commitments: Parent-level agreements; site allocation not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Fields with recorded verification: proposed site address; six-building scope verified field list · project scope

    Only the fields in this list are recorded as verified. A stored number outside this list is not treated as verified.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Next research question

  • Issued IDEM permit and construction milestone.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Data + actions

Permanent link for citing this record →

Suggest a correction → Record ID amazon-hobart-sbn520 and the page are prefilled. Accepted material corrections appear on Changes.

Facility evidence across sources

Identity

Facility ID
dcd-fac-002430 (public id fac-002430)
Unit
site (campus or building not established)
Name source
Amazon Hobart — SBN520 · DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520
Evidence tier
reviewed
Part of
Amazon Data Services — Hobart project fac-002429

Other names

Status by layer

LayerValueDateSource
Reviewed (DCD) · verified recordproposed
Status basis: IDEM received an air-permit application describing six proposed data-center buildings. An application is not an issued permit or construction milestone.
Latest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520

Location

Street
4751 E. 61st Avenue, Hobart, IN
City
Hobart
County
Lake
State
IN
Metro (CBSA)
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN 16980

Coordinates 41.506979794368, -87.231994340137 · precision street · DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520

Address as published by DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520.

Facts

Quote-bound facts: each shows the value, the source address, the capture hash (first 12 characters; the full SHA-256 is in the page markup) and the capture date. The source's exact wording stays in the capture record and is not republished here; the capture hash binds it.

No quote-bound fact with a hashed capture is recorded for this facility.

Other values by layer

FieldValueLayer and basisDateSource
ownerAmazon Data Services, Inc.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520
developerAmazon Data Services, Inc.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520
isoMISOReviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520
incentives commitmentsParent-level agreements; site allocation not established.Reviewed (DCD) · reviewed recordLatest source retrieval/capture date date not statedDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520
classification.power sourceonsite_generationReviewed (DCD) · reviewed classificationLatest source retrieval/capture date DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520

Sources for the reviewed record

These citations belong to the linked reviewed records. They do not establish every figure or present-day operating status. Publication and retrieval dates are shown separately; an unstated date remains unknown.

Details still needed

30 fields in the shared profile are not established for this record. Each states why; missing information does not mean zero or absence.

  • Operator · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Postal code · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Operator-stated status · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Status in public records · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Critical IT capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Requested utility capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Reported total power (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Generation capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Company-announced design capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Provider-reported capacity (MW) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Data hall or IT floor area (sq ft) · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Site area · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • UPS redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Backup generator redundancy · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Tier design rating · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Cooling technology · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Opening year or expected opening year · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Network presence · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Service · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Certification or compliance claims · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Rack density · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Space or power availability · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Specifications and facility pages · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Business contact · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Public registration · not recorded for this field in the register
  • Fact supported by a source quotation · not recorded for this field in the register

Jurisdiction and policy actions

Policy actions are matched to this facility by jurisdiction (state, county, municipality or utility), never by the facility's name. A match means the action covers the place, not that it names or affects this facility.

Updates, corrections and review

Last checked

How often we re-check

We plan to re-check this facility every 90 days because it has a reviewed record whose status may still change. Next check due . The last-checked date is the newest evidence date among this facility's sources. Dates are measured against the newest input date, , not the day this page was built.

Update events

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

How complete the facility register is

Rights for this record

For each populated field, the origin of the value shown on this page and the terms it carries. Values that are not redistributable may be read and cited here but are not relicensed.

FieldSupplied byOriginLicenseAttributionRedistributable
current_nameDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
aliases[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.streetDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cityDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.countyDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.street_keyDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.city_keyDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.stateDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
location.cbsaDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
location.cbsa_nameDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd originalCC-BY-4.0DataCenterDatayes
location.latDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520public recordus government work public domainU.S. government source named on the recordyes
location.lonDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520public recordus government work public domainU.S. government source named on the recordyes
location.source_precisionDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520public recordus government work public domainU.S. government source named on the recordyes
status_by_layer[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
lifecycle_statusDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
status_basisDataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[1]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[2]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[3]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
layer_values[4]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[0]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[1]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[2]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano
reviewed_unknown_statements[3]DataCenterData reviewed record amazon-hobart-sbn520dcd reference onlyreference onlyDataCenterDatano