Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001447

Tesla Cortex 2.0 AI Training Cluster (Giga Texas)

source-reported under construction

Tesla

Austin · Travis County · Texas

Reported planned 500 MWSource updated 21 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Tesla Cortex 2.0 AI Training Cluster (Giga Texas).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Tesla
Address and locality
Austin · Travis County · Texas
Official metro area
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
21 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001447

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Bluebonnet Electric CooperativeUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
MixedProvider label.
On-site generation
30 MW (source-reported)On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Provider notes

Energy. Grid power from Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative (Giga Texas sits in unincorporated Travis County within Bluebonnet's — not Austin Energy's — service territory) is the primary supply, but Tesla has built genuine on-site generation and storage that make this a defining mixed story.

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Cooling: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.

What the source record says

Dedicated, purpose-built AI training data center on the north side of Tesla's Giga Texas campus (unincorporated Travis County), separate from and adjacent to the original Cortex cluster. Trains neural networks for Full Self-Driving and the Optimus robot program; uses Nvidia GPUs. First ~250 MW targeted online with a full ~500 MW buildout targeted mid-2026; construction began early 2025. Coordinate is the Giga Texas campus point; Cortex 2.0 is a specific building on that campus.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tesla-cortex-2-giga-texas-austin-tx. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001447

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Austin, TX · Travis (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Tesla

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Mixed

    Provider label.

  • On-site generation: 30 MW (source-reported)

    On-site figures often describe backup generators rather than primary supply; read the provider energy note.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-21

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →