Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001431

TECfusions Keystone Connect

source-reported proposed

TECfusions

Upper Burrell Township · Westmoreland County · Pennsylvania

Reported planned 3,000 MW, over a six-year buildout · scope: campusOperational not established after reviewSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: confirmed
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for TECfusions Keystone Connect.

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
TECfusions
Address and locality
Upper Burrell Township · Westmoreland County · Pennsylvania
Official metro area
Pittsburgh, PA
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 3,000 MW (stated as “over a six-year buildout”; scope: campus; provider note: “3 GW planned over a six-year buildout”; cited source: TECfusions Unveils Massive 1400-Acre Data Center Project in Pennsylvania, Revitalizing Former Industrial Plant) (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider). Operational: not established; source review excludes the published operational figure
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Compute Atlas confidence label
confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001431
Operational capacity held out of the public projection.

The provider note describes 12 MW only as “immediately available in existing buildings” on a proposed campus; availability on a proposed site is not a demonstrated operating load, so it is not repeated as operational capacity. The 3,000 MW is retained only as the developer’s phased plan, “3 GW planned over a six-year buildout”, from a company press release. The separate review note on this row, recording a local news report that one building is already live for a tenant, gives no operational load figure.

The planned figure is retained only as the provider states it: 3,000 MW, over a six-year buildout (stated as “over a six-year buildout”; scope: campus; provider note: “3 GW planned over a six-year buildout”; cited source: TECfusions Unveils Massive 1400-Acre Data Center Project in Pennsylvania, Revitalizing Former Industrial Plant). Open the cited source → The upstream row remains attributed below; no operational figure is repeated as site capacity, and unknown is not zero.

Dated source review

The underlying provider record is retained. These notes add source-attributed context and flag conflicts; any withheld value is explained separately. They do not certify current operation.

  • status: Provider status: proposed. A local news report dated 2026-09-03 says one building is already live for a tenant, citing TribLive and a company release.

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Power source
On-site gasProvider label.
Land area
1,395 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
14 January 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Pennsylvania Redevelopment Assistance Capital Program (RACP) · Pennsylvania · 2025 · $2 million (as stated) Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. On-site natural gas generation with dual utility feeds and microgrid capability; the developer says discussions are under way to export excess power to the local grid.

Community. Upper Burrell Township passed a 180-day data-center moratorium in May 2026, but it did not apply to permits already granted to TECfusions for 'Building J', and supervisors approved a land development plan for that building on Aug. 5, 2026 despite the moratorium. Protect PT (an environmental advocacy group) and New Kensington residents Fuller and Allen Uhler filed a land-use appeal against township approvals with the Westmoreland County Court of Common Pleas. More than 50 residents attended an August supervisors meeting, most opposed.

What the source record says

Adaptive reuse of the former Alcoa research and development campus in Upper Burrell, Westmoreland County: 1,395 acres, 3 GW planned over a six-year buildout, with 12 MW described as immediately available in existing buildings. Awarded a $2 million Pennsylvania RACP grant. Investment total not disclosed by the developer.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-01-14 · source-reported proposed

    TECfusions announced acquisition of the 1,395-acre former Alcoa R&D campus and a phased 3 GW AI/HPC campus.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID tecfusions-keystone-connect-upper-burrell-pa. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001431

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Upper Burrell Township, PA · Westmoreland (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: TECfusions

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 14 January 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-01-14 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,395 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 3,000 MW (stated as “over a six-year buildout”; scope: campus; provider note: “3 GW planned over a six-year buildout”; cited source: TECfusions Unveils Massive 1400-Acre Data Center Project in Pennsylvania, Revitalizing Former Industrial Plant) (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider). Operational: not established; source review excludes the published operational figure

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Power source: On-site gas

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Pennsylvania Redevelopment Assistance Capital Program (RACP) · Pennsylvania · 2025 · $2 million (as stated)

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-10

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →