Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001368

Project Washington (Starwood Digital Ventures)

source-reported proposed

Starwood Digital Ventures

Delaware City · New Castle County · Delaware

Reported planned 1,200 MWSource updated 6 July 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Project Washington (Starwood Digital Ventures).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
Starwood Digital Ventures
Address and locality
Delaware City · New Castle County · Delaware
Official metro area
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
6 July 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001368

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Delmarva Power & LightUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
580 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Announced jobs
3,500 constructionAnnounced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established. Open cited source →
Community response
Provider label: litigationCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
mixed useCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
July 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Primary supply from the PJM grid via Delmarva Power & Light's Red Lion substation. The project's 516 on-site diesel generators are emergency backup, not primary generation; no on-site gas generation is proposed.

Water. Starwood states the campus would use about 12.7 million gallons of water per year at full build-out, with a one-time ~600,000-gallon fill for its closed-loop cooling system; the regulatory filing cited a broader range of roughly 9.9-20 million gallons/year, and reviewers questioned whether that is low for a 1.2 GW campus.

Community. DNREC Secretary denied Coastal Zone Act permit February 4, 2026 citing 516 backup diesel generators and 2.5 million gallons of stored diesel as unprecedented heavy industrial use under Delaware's 1971 Coastal Zone Act. Starwood appealed to Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board; hearing held March 24-26, 2026. Board UNANIMOUSLY UPHELD the denial March 26, 2026. Starwood expected to appeal to Delaware Superior Court and potentially Delaware Supreme Court; full resolution estimated 18 months to three years. First major CZA denial for a project of this scale in Delaware history. …

What the source record says

Largest proposed data center in Delaware history. 11 two-story buildings, 5 substations, 1 switch station, 516 emergency diesel generators on 580 acres. CZA permit denied February 4, 2026; denial unanimously upheld by Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board March 26, 2026. Appeal to Delaware Superior Court anticipated. Delaware Building Trades Council exclusive union labor agreement in place. Original $9.7B investment figure removed — not confirmed in any cited source. Coordinates approximate for Delaware City area.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-07 · source-reported proposed

    Starwood Digital proposed 11-building, 1.2 GW hyperscale campus on 580 acres adjacent to former Delaware City Refinery land (Hamburg Road/River Road/Governor Lea Road).

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID starwood-digital-project-washington-de. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001368

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): mixed use

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Delaware City, DE · New Castle (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: Starwood Digital Ventures

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: July 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-07 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 580 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Delmarva Power & Light

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Announced jobs: 3,500 construction

    Announced figures; whether they cover one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.

  • Community response: Provider label: litigation

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-06

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →