Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001363

Stargate Lordstown Campus

source-reported under construction

OpenAI / SoftBank / Oracle

Lordstown · Trumbull County · Ohio

Reported planned 1,500 MWSource updated 5 July 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for Stargate Lordstown Campus.

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
OpenAI / SoftBank / Oracle
Address and locality
Lordstown · Trumbull County · Ohio
Official metro area
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
5 July 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001363

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
FirstEnergy (Ohio Edison)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Community response
Provider label: supportedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
confirmedCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
23 September 2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Incentives reported by the source

Whether each incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

  • Ohio data-center sales-tax exemption (ORC §122.175, via JobsOhio / Ohio Tax Credit Authority) — statutory program; no OTCA approval confirmed for the Crescent Dune LLC / SoftBank / OpenAI site, and a moratorium on new data-center exemptions was in effect (2025–2026) · Ohio Open cited source →

Provider notes

Energy. Lordstown sits in FirstEnergy/Ohio Edison territory (eastern PJM); sources cite "affordable electricity from FirstEnergy and American Electric Power" and FirstEnergy's high-voltage transmission. FirstEnergy completed a $30M grid upgrade (2019–2022) anticipating large industrial load. DISCREPANCY: the existing poweredBy field says "on-site natural gas generators" (the adjacent independently-owned Lordstown Energy Center is a separate gas plant); on-site generation for the data center is not confirmed in site-specific filings. …

Water. SoftBank spokesperson: "The Lordstown site will also use a closed-loop cooling system that is designed to reduce water consumption." Oracle co-CEO Clay Magouyrk (via AP): "These data centers are designed to not use water." No site-specific MGD figure published.

Community. Local officials and the Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber described the SoftBank acquisition and Stargate/Foxconn manufacturing partnership as a 'transformational investment.' (A separate Lordstown data-center moratorium and lawsuit involved an unrelated developer, not this SoftBank/Foxconn site.)

What the source record says

Planned 1,500 MW is a long-term campus ceiling, not a near-term operational figure: a SoftBank spokesperson said the initial SoftBank/OpenAI data center uses "a small part" of the 6.2M-sq-ft site, which also hosts a Foxconn/SoftBank hub manufacturing modular data-center equipment. Crescent Dune LLC (a SoftBank affiliate) acquired the site from Foxconn for $375M (Sept 2025, Trumbull County Auditor). SoftBank's "up to $3 billion" is a ceiling covering both manufacturing and the data center — no data-center-only investment figure is confirmed.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025-09-23 · source-reported proposed

    One of five new Stargate sites; SoftBank investing $3B to convert former GM EV plant into modular AI data center factory

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025 · source-reported under construction

    Ground broken; using former Lordstown Motors / GM assembly plant; modular prefab data center approach

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID stargate-lordstown-oh. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001363

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): confirmed

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Lordstown, OH · Trumbull (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: OpenAI / SoftBank / Oracle

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 23 September 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025-09-23 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,500 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: FirstEnergy (Ohio Edison)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: supported

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

  • Incentive reported by the source: Ohio data-center sales-tax exemption (ORC §122.175, via JobsOhio / Ohio Tax Credit Authority) — statutory program; no OTCA approval confirmed for the Crescent Dune LLC / SoftBank / OpenAI site, and a moratorium on new data-center exemptions was in effect (2025–2026) · Ohio

    Whether the incentive was approved, awarded or received is not established.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-07-05

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Area, acreage and buildings · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →