Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001212

QTS Bessemer (Project Marvel)

source-reported proposed

QTS Data Centers

Bessemer · Jefferson County · Alabama

Reported planned 1,200 MWSource updated 9 September 2026approximate location · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for QTS Bessemer (Project Marvel).

Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
QTS Data Centers
Address and locality
Bessemer · Jefferson County · Alabama
Official metro area
Birmingham, AL
Source-reported status
proposed
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
9 September 2026
Location precision
approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001212

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Alabama PowerUtility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Closed-loopProvider label.
Land area
1,607 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: contestedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
2025Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Alabama Power confirmed 1,200 MW power availability for the campus. QTS committed project-related energy costs will not be passed on to local utility ratepayers. Opponents (NAACP, Black Warrior Riverkeeper, SELC) raised concerns that the facility will rely on fossil fuels. Bibb County residents identified as potentially facing higher power bills due to grid strain.

Water. QTS committed to a closed-loop cooling system that does not consume water for cooling once operational. Opposition groups including Black Warrior Riverkeeper raised concerns about water impacts during construction and operation, citing proximity to a Black Warrior River tributary. Tuscaloosa County flagged for potential irreversible water impacts.

Community. Strong and ongoing opposition. Public Facebook group 'Bessemer Data Center - We Say No!' grew to 720+ members. NAACP cited environmental justice concerns for majority-minority Bessemer community. Black Warrior Riverkeeper (BWR) and Southern Environmental Law Center (SELC) opposed construction over fossil fuel and water impacts. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service raised concerns. Rezoning lawsuit filed in Jefferson County Circuit Court (temporarily enjoined; later dismissed). …

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Announced investment: The source note says no single firm company-confirmed figure exists and treats the investment as a projected cost range excluded from the investment field.
  • Announced permanent jobs: The source note says the roughly 1,000 construction and 330 permanent jobs are projections recorded in the notes, not in structured jobs fields.
  • Announced construction jobs: The source note says the roughly 1,000 construction and 330 permanent jobs are projections recorded in the notes, not in structured jobs fields.

What the source record says

Codename: Project Marvel. 18-building hyperscale campus on Red Ridge near I-459 and I-20/59 interchange in Bessemer (Jefferson County). Announced capacity: up to 1,200 MW at full build-out — reported as a planned ceiling, roughly 9% of Alabama Power's current generating capacity; recorded as capacityMw.planned = 1200 (an announced 'up to' full-build-out ceiling, consistent with how the dataset records other announced full-build-out figures). Investment: reported at $14–14.5B across sources (Logistics Land Investment anticipated 'close to $14.4B'; WBRC reported $14.5B at November 2025 rezoning; DCD reported ~$14B); no single firm company-confirmed figure exists — treated as a projected cost range and excluded from investmentUsd. Land: ~1,607.42 acres total after two rezoning rounds (initial ~700 acres November 2025 + 914-acre expansion April 2026). QTS affiliate purchased land from TPA Group affiliate for $431.73M. Chapter 9B statutory eligibility would have provided a 30-year abatement estimated at $500M+; QTS committed not to seek local property tax incentives (per WBRC July 2026) — subsidy excluded as eligibility does not equal award and QTS renounced pursuit. Full buildout timeline: 7+ years. Birmingham Business Alliance estimated ~$4B net benefit over 30 years; Bessemer City Schools projected ~$25M/year. AI framing not officially confirmed by QTS or the city as of July 2026 — size and scale (hyperscale, cloud/AI demand framing in QTS statement) support 'likely' classification. Coordinates are approximate for the Red Ridge parcel area. Jobs: ~1,000 construction and ~330 permanent are projected figures for the proposed (not-yet-built) campus (WBRC, Nov 2025) — recorded as projections in notes, not structured jobs fields, per data-rigor policy. QTS Data Centers is owned by Blackstone (2021 take-private). STATUS JUDGEMENT SURFACED, NOT APPLIED: Bessemer approved land-use rezonings for this campus in November 2025 and again (914 acres) in April 2026, which under the wave's rule that a rezoning approval means permitted could argue for permitted rather than proposed. I did not change it, because the record's own cited source dated 2026-07-02 postdates both rezonings and still describes the campus as proposed, and no building permit or site-preparation start was found in any source fetched this run. A maintainer should decide whether a rezoning alone promotes this record.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2025 · source-reported proposed

    Project Marvel first surfaced March 2025; unnamed developer (via Logistics Land Investment LLC, an affiliate of Atlanta-based TPA Group) sought rezoning of ~700 acres in Bessemer for hyperscale data center

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025 · source-reported proposed

    Bessemer City Council voted 5-2 to approve rezoning ~700 acres from agricultural (A-1) to light industrial (I-1) on November 18, 2025; developer identity still not publicly disclosed

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026 · source-reported proposed

    Bessemer City Council approved rezoning of 914 additional acres in April 2026, expanding total site to ~1,607 acres; 18-building count unchanged, additional land used for wider buffers and layout flexibility

    Open cited source →

  4. 2026 · source-reported proposed

    QTS Data Centers (Blackstone) publicly confirmed as operator behind Project Marvel, July 1-2, 2026; project described as in active planning stage

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID qts-marvel-bessemer-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001212

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Bessemer, AL · Jefferson (Approximate location)

Roles

  • Operator: QTS Data Centers

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported proposed

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: 2025

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2025 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2025 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2026 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 1,607 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 1,200 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Alabama Power

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Closed-loop

    Provider label.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: contested

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-09

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →