Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001195

QTS Aurora-Denver Data Center Campus (DEN1)

source-reported under construction

QTS Data Centers

Aurora · Arapahoe County · Colorado

Reported planned 177 MWSource updated 30 September 2026exact location (provider label) · provider confidence label: reported
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Reported geography

Source-reported location for QTS Aurora-Denver Data Center Campus (DEN1).

Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →

Exact source coordinates Approximate or representative coordinates Nearby-point group. This relative plot uses only source-supplied points, makes no parcel claim and loads no map tiles.

Source row snapshot

Operator as published
QTS Data Centers
Address and locality
Aurora · Arapahoe County · Colorado
Official metro area
Denver-Aurora-Centennial, CO
Source-reported status
under construction
Provider facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Planned: 177 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Source freshness
30 September 2026
Location precision
exact (provider label)
Compute Atlas confidence label
reported (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001195

Reported details

Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.

Electric utility
Xcel Energy (Public Service Company of Colorado)Utility as named by the provider.
Power source
GridProvider label.
Cooling
Not establishedProvider label: unknown.
Land area
67 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Community response
Provider label: mixedCompute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment. Open cited source →
AI-use label (provider)
likelyCompute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Announced
May 2022Provider-reported announcement date.

Provider notes

Energy. Will become Xcel Energy's single largest customer at 177MW; QTS paying for new transmission line and substation

Water. Colorado data center water use under scrutiny; Xcel projects data center load growth requiring $22B infrastructure spend by 2040

Community. Neighbors raised concerns about power and water bills; Colorado PUC capped new data center generation at 6,000MW and requires 15-year contracts, security deposits, and early-exit fees

Some source-reported values are held out of this page.

These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.

  • Reported water use: No row text or source label supports the new numeric water measure.

What the source record says

1160 N. Gun Club Rd, Aurora, CO 80018; eastern Aurora near E-470. Former JPMorgan data center site. Four-building campus on 67 acres. Colorado's first hyperscale facility at this scale. Coordinates based on Gun Club Rd address. Investment amount and specific job counts (previously $1B, 500 construction, 77 permanent) removed — not confirmed by cited sources. QTS Data Centers is owned by Blackstone (2021 take-private). As of 2026-07-08, one of the campus's three buildings is complete, a second is nearly finished, and site work has begun on the third. A July 2025 permit application seeks 98 additional diesel backup generators on top of the existing 40.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2022-05 · source-reported proposed

    QTS added Denver Campus to its website; site at 1160 N. Gun Club Rd, Aurora (former JPMorgan data center site)

    Open cited source →

  2. 2024-01 · source-reported under construction

    Construction underway; Holder Construction as general contractor; 2,713 tons of steel and 347,000 sq ft of decking reported

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID qts-aurora-co. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).

Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.

No reviewed record is linked to this row yet.

That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.

Recorded information

What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.

Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001195

Licensed directory row. Licensed directory label. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.

Identity and relationships

  • Provider facility type: data center

    Provider facility type.

  • AI-use label (provider): likely

    Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.

Location and precision

  • Aurora, CO · Arapahoe (Exact location)

Roles

  • Operator: QTS Data Centers

    Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.

Lifecycle

  • Source-stated status: source-reported under construction

    Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.

  • Announced: May 2022

    Provider-reported announcement date.

  • Status history: 2022-05 · source-reported proposed

    Status history supplied by the source.

  • Status history: 2024-01 · source-reported under construction

    Status history supplied by the source.

Area, acreage and buildings

  • Land area: 67 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)

Power capacity

  • Reported capacity: Planned: 177 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)

    Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.

  • Electric utility: Xcel Energy (Public Service Company of Colorado)

    Utility as named by the provider.

  • Power source: Grid

    Provider label.

Cooling, water, PUE and WUE

  • Cooling: Not established

    Provider label: unknown.

Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings

  • Community response: Provider label: mixed

    Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.

Sources, dates, limitations and corrections

  • Provider update date: 2026-09-30

    Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.

Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.

Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.

Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →