This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for NuVu County Drive Data Center Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- NuVu Real Estate
- Address and locality
- 2588 County Drive · Petersburg · Virginia
- Official metro area
- Richmond, VA
- Source-reported status
- permitted
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 9 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001081
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Dominion Energy
- Power source
- Grid
- Cooling
- Closed-loop
- Land area
- 75 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $1.1 billion
- Announced
- January 2026
Provider notes
Energy. Developer says additional power would come via a new substation connecting to Dominion Energy's grid, plus unspecified 'clean energy' sources.
Water. Developer states the campus would use a closed-loop water system recycling water within the property, not drawing on public water.
What the source record says
Three-building campus on a 75-acre undeveloped site between I-95 and County Drive, in a federal opportunity zone. An LLC tied to NuVu purchased the site in November 2025 for $4.12 million. Details came from Petersburg city documents released under FOIA. The live publisher page is bot-walled, so the cited source is the Wayback Machine capture actually retrieved. Coordinates are an approximate geocode of the cited street address, not a parcel-confirmed point.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-02 · source-reported permitted
Received the first site plan approval for a data center in Petersburg in February 2026. No rezoning was required — the site's M-1 Light Industrial zoning permits data centers by right under a 2024 code change. As of late June 2026 no land disturbance permit had been applied for.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Documents reveal details on several data center projects in Petersburg's pipeline (archived) · Richmond BizSense
- Multiple data centers planned for Petersburg; documents shed light on new details · WTVR CBS 6
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID nuvu-county-drive-petersburg-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-001081
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- 2588 County Drive, Petersburg, VA (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: NuVu Real Estate
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported permitted
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: January 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-02 · source-reported permitted
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 75 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 300 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Dominion Energy
Utility as named by the provider.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Closed-loop
Provider label.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $1.1 billion
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-09
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.