This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Iron Mountain MIA-1.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Iron Mountain
- Address and locality
- Westview · Miami-Dade County · Florida
- Official metro area
- Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Planned: 16 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
- Source freshness
- 14 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000821
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Florida Power & Light (FPL)
- Land area
- 3.4 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Announced investment
- $150 million
- Community response
- Provider label: contested
Provider notes
Energy. Iron Mountain states 26 MVA of redundant operational power supporting 16 MW of customer IT load, and markets the facility as running on 100% clean energy. The generation source behind that claim is not identified, so energy.source is left unset.
Community. Westview residents say they only learned the project was a data center after construction was already underway, and raised concerns about water usage, power-grid strain, and local job access at a town hall with County Commissioner Marleine Bastien; no litigation reported.
What the source record says
150,000 sq ft. Classified a "telecom hub" rather than "data center" under Miami-Dade county code. Opens 2026.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026 · source-reported under construction
150,000 sq ft facility in Westview, Miami; opens 2026.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Iron Mountain breaks ground on first data center in Miami · Data Center Dynamics
- Westview fumes as quiet AI fortress rises in Miami backyard · Hoodline
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- Iron Mountain solution guide — MIA-1 Miami: "By mid 2026 this 150,000 ft2 AI-ready facility will phase up to support 16 MW of customer IT load based on 26 MVA of redundant operational power"; Tier III, 3.4-acre site · Iron Mountain
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID iron-mountain-mia-1-miami-fl. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000821
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- Westview, FL · Miami-Dade (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Iron Mountain
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Status history: 2026 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 3.4 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Planned: 16 MW (source-reported; boundary not independently verified; MW measure not stated by provider)
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Florida Power & Light (FPL)
Utility as named by the provider.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Announced investment: $150 million
Announced figure; whether it covers one building, a campus or a multi-phase program is not established.
- Community response: Provider label: contested
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-14
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.