This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Google Winding Woods Campus.
Approximate source coordinates; this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- St. George · Dorchester County · South Carolina
- Official metro area
- Charleston-North Charleston, SC
- Source-reported status
- under construction
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 10 September 2026
- Location precision
- approximate (provider label: exact; the provider's own note describes an approximate location)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000753
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Power source
- Grid
- Land area
- 206 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- AI-use label (provider)
- confirmed
- Announced
- 2026
What the source record says
Google's second SC campus, in Winding Woods Commerce Park, St. George, Dorchester County; part of a $9B South Carolina investment (statewide figure — not a single-campus capex). Distinct from Google's Ridgeville, SC campus. IT capacity not disclosed. Coordinates are the St. George area centroid. FLAG FOR HUMAN REVIEW, not a confirmed no-change: same Dorchester County 'opens 2024' milestone as flagged on google-ridgeville-sc -- see that record's note for the full reasoning; it applies identically here since St. George/Winding Woods and Ridgeville are both in Dorchester County and the source does not disambiguate. No water/cooling, address, investmentUsd, jobs, or subsidies data was found for this site despite the same targeted checks described on google-ridgeville-sc (Santee Cooper newsroom/generation-projects/board-meetings/IRP/economic-development, SC Governor's newsroom, SC Commerce newsroom, scbiz.com, Post and Courier, Live5/WCSC, ABCNews4/WCIV, SC PSC docket system, Dorchester County's own site [403], and web.archive.org [429 rate-limited on every attempt this run]). Google's own site's '$13B invested in South Carolina since 2007' and 'Google signs 225-megawatt renewable energy deal' (2023) figures are both explicitly NOT attributed to any single facility by the source itself, so per the hard rule against guessed attribution I am not assigning either to this record's investmentUsd or capacityMw/energy fields.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026 · source-reported under construction
Google's second South Carolina campus, in Winding Woods Commerce Park, St. George (Dorchester County); part of a $9B SC investment
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Google to invest $9bn in South Carolina data centers · Data Center Dynamics
- Baxtel — Google: Winding Woods Data Center · Baxtel
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-winding-woods-st-george-sc. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
Operator’s own listing
What the operator publishes about this site on its own website, matched to this licensed row by DataCenterData. Facts are taken from the operator’s page, shown with a link to it, and not independently verified; no page text is republished and the licensed values above are unchanged. A match does not establish that the listing and this row cover exactly the same building, suite or boundary, or who owns the site.
- Name as listed
- St. George
- Address as published
- St. George, SC
Lifecycle status is not published for this listing.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000753
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
- AI-use label (provider): confirmed
Compute Atlas classification, not a DataCenterData finding.
Location and precision
- St. George, SC · Dorchester (Approximate location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported under construction
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026 · source-reported under construction
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 206 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Power source: Grid
Provider label.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-10
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Cooling, water, PUE and WUE · Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact · Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.