This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Reported geography
Source-reported location for Google Putnam County Data Center.
Exact source coordinates (provider label); this is not a parcel claim. Nearby source points are combined into one accessible target that opens this exact map scope. View these exact rows on the interactive map →
Source row snapshot
- Operator as published
- Address and locality
- 22272 Charleston Road · Buffalo · Putnam County · West Virginia
- Official metro area
- Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH
- Source-reported status
- proposed
- Provider facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 22 September 2026
- Location precision
- exact (provider label)
- Compute Atlas confidence label
- confirmed (provider's classification; not a DataCenterData check)
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000740
Reported details
Source-reported by Compute Atlas; not independently verified by DataCenterData. Provider wording is kept; long provider notes are shortened and marked …; unknown is not zero; none of these values is totaled, ranked or compared.
- Electric utility
- Appalachian Power (AEP)
- Cooling
- Not established
- Land area
- 1,700 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
- Community response
- Provider label: mixed
- Announced
- 27 March 2026
Provider notes
Energy. Google's project site states the company "is committed to pay for all necessary electrical infrastructure required to run its data center, including substations and transmission upgrades." West Virginia Public Broadcasting (2026-06-04) reports plans for "generating 100% of the electricity needed" for the campus. No utility, generation technology or megawatt figure has been published, so those fields are left unset.
Water. Google's project site states "We evaluate the local water source for each data center, using a science-based framework to assess watershed health" and that "our cooling decisions consider the local environment — balancing affordable energy and responsibly-sourced water." West Virginia Public Broadcasting reports a plan for "treating 120% of the water needed." No cooling method or withdrawal volume has been published for the Buffalo site, so coolingType and reportedMgd are left unset.
Community. Named residents cited cancer/health fears and anger over the March 27, 2026 announcement, while the Buffalo mayor and a state delegate voiced enthusiastic support; no formal hearing or vote has occurred yet.
These reviews flag conflicting scope, inconsistent source text or support that has not been established. A withheld value may appear in the explanation, but is not displayed as an established field. The upstream row remains attributed under Sources.
- Announced investment: The source note describes the investment only as an unspecified multibillion-dollar amount, so the listed value is not supported.
- Power source: Previously held pending provider-field review. The concern has not been resolved by an independent source review for this captured edition; the field remains withheld.
What the source record says
1,700 acres both sides of Route 62, north end of Buffalo near the Kanawha River (address disclosed as 22272 Charleston Road). Announced March 2026; multibillion-dollar investment unspecified; still in early due diligence. Re-checked 2026-09-10: status unchanged (proposed). Most recent coverage found (wvgazettemail update dated 2026-09-03) still describes the site as an application under review, not a permitted or under-construction project. capacityMw and water/coolingType remain unconfirmed: Google's own spokesperson has not disclosed power or water figures for this site as of the 2026-09-03 update. jobs remains unfilled: officials cite only non-numeric 'thousands of construction jobs and hundreds of permanent roles,' no source gives integer counts. aiClassification declined: sources describe this as a general Google data center / cloud campus; none of the fetched sources specifically frame THIS site as AI-dedicated (vs. general cloud), so filling the enum would be a guess. subsidies: no facility-specific incentive/abatement program was found in any source fetched this session; HB 2014's tax-revenue split (majority to state, county keeps roughly 30%) is a distribution of taxes the facility generates, not a subsidy granted to the facility, so it is not recorded as a subsidy. Could not obtain a fetchable primary source (wvpress.org returned 403) that states explicitly whether Google applied for the Economic Development Project Fund, so no subsidies finding is asserted either way.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-03-27 · source-reported proposed
1,700 acres on both sides of Route 62, north end of Buffalo near the Kanawha River; approved as a High Impact Development Project but still in due diligence/early stage.
Sources and attribution
These sources are listed for the whole row. Unless a figure links to its own source, the provider does not mark which one gave it, so a figure may not appear in every source.
- Google announces plans for data center in Buffalo, W.Va. · WV MetroNews
- Google purchases land for potential data center in Putnam County · WSAZ
- Possible Google data center property location in Buffalo identified · Herald-Dispatch
- West Virginia GIS Technical Center -- WV Composite Geocoder (state PointAddress match for 22272 Charleston Rd, Buffalo, WV 25033)
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
- Pack releases study on expected data center tax revenue · WV MetroNews
- Google — Buffalo, West Virginia data center project site · Google
- Google Launches Data Center Website For Putnam County Campus — plans to generate 100% of the electricity needed and treat 120% of the water needed · West Virginia Public Broadcasting
- Google To Source Solar Power For Planned Putnam Data Center · West Virginia Public Broadcasting
- MN8 Energy, Google, and Eos Energy Enterprises Bring Advanced Clean Energy Solutions to West Virginia · GlobeNewswire (MN8 Energy / Eos Energy Enterprises)
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.34.1, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID google-putnam-county-campus-wv. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added. Some locations in this layer are reported by the provider as derived from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL, https://www.openstreetmap.org/copyright) and Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0).
Compute Atlas 1.34.1 with retained prior rows and publication holds. This is a DataCenterData composite, not an unmodified publisher edition. This row uses the captured source from 1.34.1, source as of 2026-10-14T20:40:52.293Z.
That does not mean the row is wrong, and it does not mean no reviewed record exists for the same place. A link is added only when an identifier or source establishes the match.
Recorded information
What this page records, grouped by topic, with the source's units and qualifications. Company-reported values stay labeled as company-reported. Related listings are shown separately.
Licensed directory listing dcd-dir-000740
Licensed directory row.
Provider notes and the source narrative are printed on this page and are not repeated here.
Identity and relationships
- Provider facility type: data center
Provider facility type.
Location and precision
- 22272 Charleston Road, Buffalo, WV · Putnam (Exact location)
Roles
- Operator: Google
Operator label as published by the provider; no parent company is inferred.
Lifecycle
- Source-stated status: source-reported proposed
Provider status label; not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is operating.
- Announced: 27 March 2026
Provider-reported announcement date.
- Status history: 2026-03-27 · source-reported proposed
Status history supplied by the source.
Area, acreage and buildings
- Land area: 1,700 acres (source-reported; parcel boundary not established)
Power capacity
- Reported capacity: Not stated
Reproduced as the page prints it; not ranked or totaled; unknown is not zero.
- Electric utility: Appalachian Power (AEP)
Utility as named by the provider.
Cooling, water, PUE and WUE
- Cooling: Not established
The provider reports water information but no cooling type.
Permits, incentives, jobs and proceedings
- Community response: Provider label: mixed
Compute Atlas characterization, not a DataCenterData assessment.
Sources, dates, limitations and corrections
- Provider update date: 2026-09-22
Provider update date is not a DataCenterData verification date.
Not yet recorded here: Connectivity · Services · Certifications and design ratings · Rack density · Availability · Specification links and contact.
Licensed values: adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak under CC BY 4.0. Source-reported and not independently verified.
Update this profile with a public source. The request includes topics needing more information; this does not mean the facility lacks them. Corrections and additions are reviewed before publication.